The best free speech to text and voice to text apps for Mac in October 2026
By Ryleigh Newman · Published · Updated
The best free speech to text and voice to text apps for Mac in October 2026 are YapToText, Apple Dictation, the free plans of superwhisper and Spokenly, Harker, Handy and OpenWhispr, with VoiceInk free only if you build it yourself and MacWhisper free for transcribing files. Free here means you can use it every day with no trial clock, and every fact about another app was read on its own site on October 3, 2026. I built YapToText, and it is first on this list, so weigh my pick with that in mind.
Checked October 3, 2026. Prices change, so check before you switch.
| App | What is free | Paid | Where your voice goes | Types into any app | Edits by voice | Open source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| YapToText | Everything, no account, no cap | None; tips are optional | Stays on the Mac | Yes | Yes, Quick Edit | Yes, GPL-3.0 |
| Apple Dictation | Everything, built into macOS | None | On the Mac for supported languages on Apple silicon; otherwise Apple | Yes | No; Voice Control can | No |
| superwhisper | Unlimited dictation with local Whisper models, up to two modes without AI | Pro $8.49 a month, $84.99 a year or $249.99 once | Stays on the device with local models; cloud models are Pro | Yes | Pro only | Not stated |
| Spokenly | Local Whisper and Parakeet models, no usage limits, no account | Pro $9.99 a month or $99.99 a year | Stays on the Mac with local models | Yes | Not stated | No; its site says its code is proprietary |
| Harker | Unlimited local transcription, auto-paste anywhere | Premium from $5.75 a month | Stays on the Mac; Premium text features use the cloud | Yes | Not stated | Not stated |
| Handy | Everything | None; donations welcome | Stays on your computer | Yes, pastes into the focused field | Not stated | Yes, MIT |
| OpenWhispr | Unlimited local dictation, plus 2,000 words a week on its cloud | Pro $8 a month or $80 a year | Stays on your computer with local models | Yes | Yes, with its voice agent key | Yes, MIT |
| VoiceInk | A 7-day trial; the source, if you build it | $25, $39 or $49 once, by number of Macs | Stays on the Mac by default; optional cloud transcription sends audio, and AI enhancement sends text | Yes | Yes | Yes, GPL-3.0 |
| MacWhisper | File transcription and basic system-wide dictation | Pro €64 once | Stays on the Mac with local models | Only in the copy sold on macwhisper.com | Not stated | Not stated |
| whisper.cpp | Everything | None | Stays on your computer | No, a command line tool | No | Yes, MIT |
| Google Docs voice typing | Comes with Google Docs and Slides | Not stated | Your browser's speech service | No, Docs and Slides only | Yes, inside Docs | No |
| Yap by Frigade | Everything | None | Stays on the Mac, through Apple's Speech framework | Yes, pastes into the focused field | Not stated | Yes, MIT |
| ToolPiper | Dictation, with no account and no caps | Pro $10, Studio $29, Max $49 a month, for the rest of the tool | Stays on the Mac | Yes | Not stated | Not stated |
| Voibe | A 7-day trial | $7.50 a month, $75 a year or $149 once | On device on Apple silicon, or its zero-retention cloud mode | Yes | Not stated | No; its own review page says it is closed source |
| SpeakMac | A trial of unstated length | $29 once for one Mac, $39 for two | Stays on the Mac | Yes | Not stated | Not stated |
Most pages that rank for a free speech to text Mac app are written by a company that sells one of the apps on them. So is this one, which is why the order comes from five questions instead of from my preference, and why it matters that YapToText has no paid tier for me to upsell you into. I dictate everything, because my hands make typing difficult, and I tried most of these before I built my own.

Download for free. No account, nothing locked, macOS 14 or later on Apple silicon. Source on GitHub.
On this page: 17 sections
- What free means on this page
- How I ranked them
- 1. YapToText: free with nothing held back, on device, edits by voice
- 2. Apple Dictation: nothing to install
- 3. superwhisper: a free plan that does not expire
- 4. Spokenly: free local models with an offline switch
- 5. Harker: unlimited free local dictation, formatting for sale
- 6. Handy: the simplest open-source tool
- 7. OpenWhispr: open source, local dictation free
- 8. VoiceInk: voice editing for a one-time price, free if you build it
- 9. MacWhisper: free for files, and for basic dictation
- Free, with a narrower job
- Trial only: Voibe and SpeakMac
- Which one I would pick
- What I did not test
- The short version
- Questions
What free means on this page
Free is the most stretched word on these lists, so here is the rule I used. An app is ranked only if you can use it every day without paying and without a clock running out. Stated feature limits are fine; trials are not.
- Free outright. YapToText, Apple Dictation, Handy, whisper.cpp and Yap by Frigade ask for nothing.
- Free plans with a paid tier. superwhisper, Spokenly, Harker, OpenWhispr and ToolPiper keep some features, such as cloud models or formatting, for paying customers.
- Free if you build it. VoiceInk's source is GPL-3.0; its ready-made app is a paid download after a trial.
- Free in one place. MacWhisper's free version is mostly a file transcriber, and Google Docs voice typing works only inside Google Docs and Slides.
- Not ranked. Wispr Flow's free plan caps desktop dictation at 2,000 words a week and always transcribes in the cloud. Voibe and SpeakMac are trials.
OpenWhispr's 2,000-word weekly limit applies only to its own cloud. No ranked app states a cap on dictating with its local models; the limits are on features.
How I ranked them
The order below comes from five questions, asked in this order. Is it free with no cap and no clock. Does the audio stay on the Mac. Does it type into any app, not just one. Can it change text you have already written, by voice. Can you read the code. An app that answers yes to all five goes above one that does not, and inside each group I put the one I would hand to a friend first.
Speed is the one thing I will not quote for any app here, mine included: your Mac, your microphone and the length of what you say all change it. YapToText's History shows the stop-to-text time for every dictation, split into transcription, AI cleanup and delivery, so you can measure it on your own Mac. A speed figure from my Mac would only describe my Mac.

I did not benchmark the other apps, and I will not pretend to, which is why nothing on this page says tested. Every other number here is what the maker publishes, with the date I read it. If you find one that has changed, the sources list at the bottom tells you which page to check.
1. YapToText: free with nothing held back, on device, edits by voice
Free with no paid tier, open source under GPL-3.0, and everything runs on the Mac: the speech model and the cleanup model ship inside the App Store version, so it works offline from the first launch. Press one key, Right Command by default, talk, press it again, and the words are typed where your cursor is, in whatever app you were in. Any key can be the trigger, as a tap to start and stop or as hold to talk.

Three things I have not found together anywhere else. Intelligent Insert reads the words around your cursor before the text lands, so dictating into the middle of a sentence gets the spacing and the capital right. Auto mode formats an email as an email and a chat message as a message, without being told. Quick Edit changes text you have already written: select it in any app, tap the Quick Edit key, say the change. It also transcribes audio and video files, including Voice Memos, on the Utility page, and it was built to work alongside VoiceOver and Voice Control, because I needed that.

- Free tier: Everything, no account, no cap.
- Paid: None; tips are optional and change nothing.
- Where your voice goes: Nowhere; both models run on the Mac.
- Watch out for: Apple silicon and macOS 14 or later only. The Homebrew build ships without the models and needs a speech model download first.
Install it from the Mac App Store; the story of why it is free is its own page.
2. Apple Dictation: nothing to install
Try this before you install anything. It is already on your Mac, it works anywhere you can type, Apple's guide says you can dictate text of any length without a timeout, and on an Apple silicon Mac it processes supported languages on the device. Turn it on in System Settings, Keyboard, Dictation, press the shortcut and talk. It stops when it hears no speech for 30 seconds, and on Apple silicon you can keep typing while you speak.
Where it stops: it adds commas, periods and question marks on its own but does not format for the destination, its commands cover punctuation and formatting but not editing what you already wrote, and Apple's Sonoma guide says an Intel Mac or an unsupported language sends your words to Apple. Older Apple guides mention Enhanced Dictation and a 40-second suggestion; the current guide has neither. When Voice Control is on, Apple's guide says you dictate with Voice Control instead.
- Free tier: Everything, built into macOS.
- Paid: None.
- Where your voice goes: On the Mac for supported languages on Apple silicon; otherwise to Apple.
- Watch out for: The 30-second silence cutoff, explained on the 30-second limit page.
3. superwhisper: a free plan that does not expire
The free plan gives unlimited dictation with any local Whisper model, custom vocabulary, text replacements and up to two modes without AI processing, and superwhisper says nothing you dictate on it leaves your device. New users get 3,000 words of Pro to try first. Pro adds cloud models, the Parakeet and Cohere Transcribe local models, file transcription, your own API keys and the AI modes, including Super Mode, which reads the active app, your selection and the clipboard. It is not on this list as open source, because its site does not say it is.
- Free tier: Unlimited local Whisper dictation, up to two modes without AI.
- Paid: Pro at $8.49 a month, $84.99 a year or $249.99 once, with a 30-day refund.
- Where your voice goes: Stays on the device with local models; cloud models are a Pro choice.
- Watch out for: Its site says offline models only run really well on Apple silicon. The superwhisper alternative page compares it with YapToText in detail.
4. Spokenly: free local models with an offline switch
Local Whisper and Parakeet models are free forever, with no usage limits and no account, and you can bring your own API keys at no charge. Its Local Only Mode blocks all network activity except local model downloads, and its modes can switch on by themselves for a specific app or website, the closest thing on this list to Auto mode. Pro adds high-accuracy cloud models and sync across devices. It needs macOS 13.3 or later.
- Free tier: Local Whisper and Parakeet models, no usage limits, no account.
- Paid: Pro at $9.99 a month or $99.99 a year.
- Where your voice goes: Stays on the Mac with local models; Local Only Mode blocks the network.
- Watch out for: Whether it edits selected text by voice is not stated.
5. Harker: unlimited free local dictation, formatting for sale
The free tier is unlimited local transcription with every Whisper model size, a global shortcut with hold to listen, and auto-paste anywhere, with no account. Premium, from $5.75 a month with a 7-day free trial, is where the writing styles, email and notes formatting, grammar fixes, translation and custom instructions live, and Harker says those use cloud processing while your voice stays on the device. Its download page lists macOS 12 or later and about 50 MB.
If what you want is plain speech to text with no formatting step, the free tier does that with no cap. The formatting and cleanup that YapToText includes for free are the things Harker sells.
- Free tier: Unlimited local transcription, all model sizes, auto-paste.
- Paid: Premium from $5.75 a month.
- Where your voice goes: Stays on the Mac; Premium text features use the cloud.
- Watch out for: Whether it edits a selection by voice is not stated.
6. Handy: the simplest open-source tool
Free, MIT licensed, funded by donations, and completely offline. Press a shortcut, speak, release, and it pastes what you said into the field you were in. It runs Whisper and Parakeet models, has an optional post-processing toggle, and ships for macOS, Windows and Linux, with a build for Intel Macs. If you want the simplest open-source dictation with no opinions, this is it.
- Free tier: Everything.
- Paid: None; donations are welcome.
- Where your voice goes: Stays on your computer.
- Watch out for: It does not state formatting for the app you are in, or editing a selection by voice.
7. OpenWhispr: open source, local dictation free
An MIT-licensed dictation app whose site says it runs local speech to text models offline, or cloud models through your own API keys, both free from the app itself. Unlimited local dictation is free for everyone. Its own cloud is free for 2,000 words a week, and Pro, at $8 a month or $80 a year, makes that unlimited and adds meeting hours, sync and its iPhone and iPad app. The free plan runs on macOS, Windows and Linux, and the GitHub repository had 8,992 stars on October 3, 2026.
- Free tier: Unlimited local dictation; 2,000 words a week on its cloud.
- Paid: Pro at $8 a month or $80 a year; Business at $16 a user a month.
- Where your voice goes: Stays on your computer with local models; it leaves only if you turn on a cloud model.
- Watch out for: Whether it formats for the app you are in is not stated. Its voice agent key rewrites a highlighted sentence in place, per its own site.
8. VoiceInk: voice editing for a one-time price, free if you build it
Its source is on GitHub under GPL-3.0, so it is free if you build it, and the ready-made app is a one-time license after a free trial. Transcription runs on the Mac by default; optional cloud transcription sends your audio to a provider you connect, and optional AI enhancement sends only text. It types into any app, rewrites a selected passage when you say how it should change, and its modes can switch on by app or website. Of everything here, it is the closest to YapToText in what it does, with a price on the download.
- Free tier: A 7-day trial; the GPL-3.0 source is free to build.
- Paid: $25 for one Mac, $39 for two, $49 for three, once, with a 14-day refund.
- Where your voice goes: Stays on the Mac by default; optional cloud transcription sends audio, and AI enhancement sends text.
- Watch out for: It needs Apple silicon, and macOS 14.4 or later by its pricing page or macOS 15 by its install guide. The VoiceInk alternative page compares the two in detail.
9. MacWhisper: free for files, and for basic dictation
The free version is a file transcriber first: drop mp3, wav, m4a, ogg, opus, mov or mp4 and it transcribes on the Mac with local models, exporting text and .srt or .vtt subtitles. Its free column also lists system-wide dictation; higher quality dictation, speaker recognition, batch transcription and meeting recording are in Pro, a one-time €64 license. Dictation is only in the copy sold on macwhisper.com, not the App Store edition.
- Free tier: File transcription, subtitles and basic system-wide dictation.
- Paid: Pro at €64 once.
- Where your voice goes: Stays on the Mac with local models.
- Watch out for: Dictation is missing from the App Store edition. The MacWhisper alternative page splits file transcription from live dictation.
Free, with a narrower job
These four are free and worth knowing, but each does a narrower job than the apps above.
10. whisper.cpp: the engine, not an app
The MIT-licensed engine underneath most of the local apps on this list, YapToText included. It is a library and a command line tool, built with cmake; its whisper-cli example reads 16-bit WAV files, and its stream example transcribes a live microphone. It does not type into other apps. If you are comfortable in Terminal and want to see what the models do with nothing in the way, start here; for Whisper with a window and a key, the Whisper Mac app page covers the options.

11. Google Docs voice typing: free inside one web app
It types and edits by voice inside Google Docs and in Slides speaker notes and captions, in Chrome, Edge or Safari, and nowhere else on your Mac. Google says your browser controls the speech to text service and decides how your speech is processed. Punctuation comes from spoken commands, its voice commands work only in English, and Google says anyone with a Google Account can create in Docs.
12. Yap by Frigade: a small open-source paste tool for macOS 26
A small MIT-licensed menu bar app that uses Apple's own Speech framework instead of Whisper, so there is no model to download. Press a shortcut, talk, press it again, and it pastes into the field you were using. It requires macOS 26 on an Apple silicon Mac, and Intel Macs are not supported. It shares a word with my app's name and nothing else; if you search for YapToText, you may land on it.
13. ToolPiper: dictation inside a much larger tool
Push-to-talk dictation on Right Option is in the free tier, on the Mac, with no account and no caps. It is one corner of a large local AI tool, and the paid tiers, $10, $29 and $49 a month, are for the rest of it. It needs macOS 26 on Apple silicon and 16 GB of memory or more, and its site does not say it is open source.
Trial only: Voibe and SpeakMac
Both show up on other lists as free, and neither is. Voibe is a 7-day trial, then $7.50 a month, $75 a year or $149 once; on the Mac it runs on device on Apple silicon, or in its zero-retention cloud mode. SpeakMac is a free trial of unstated length, then $29 once for one Mac or $39 for two, with 12 months of updates, and it runs on the Mac. Both are paid apps, and they are here so you know that before you install them.
Which one I would pick
Pick by what you need, smallest commitment first:
- Install nothing. Apple Dictation, for a day.
- Free, on the Mac, with editing by voice. YapToText.
- A free plan from a company with a paid one behind it. superwhisper, Spokenly or Harker.
- Open source, also on Windows and Linux. Handy or OpenWhispr.
- Pay once for voice editing. VoiceInk.
- Files instead of typing. MacWhisper's free version, or YapToText's file transcription.
If you live in Google Docs, its own voice typing may be all you need. The offline dictation page lists which of these work with Wi-Fi off, and if you are pricing a paid app, the Wispr Flow pricing page has the numbers.
What I did not test
- Accuracy. I have not run a word error test across these apps, so none of this is an accuracy ranking.
- Features a maker does not state. Where a site does not say whether its app edits by voice or is open source, the table says Not stated.
- Prices tomorrow. Every price was read on October 3, 2026. The sources list says which page to check.
The short version
- Free, on the Mac, edits by voice. YapToText.
- Nothing to install. Apple Dictation.
- Free plans from paid apps. superwhisper, Spokenly, Harker.
- Open source. Handy, OpenWhispr, and VoiceInk if you build it.
If you want the case for one app instead of a list, dictation software for Mac that costs nothing and uploads nothing is that page.
Free should mean free every day, not free for a week. If a fact here has changed before I catch it, tell me on GitHub. Every issue gets read.
Download for free. No account, nothing locked, macOS 14 or later on Apple silicon. Source on GitHub.
Related
Sources
- https://support.apple.com/guide/mac-help/use-dictation-mh40584/mac (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://support.apple.com/guide/mac-help/use-dictation-mh40584/14.0/mac/14.0 (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://support.apple.com/guide/mac-help/use-dictation-mh40584/11.0/mac/11.0 (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://support.apple.com/guide/mac-help/dictate-your-messages-and-documents-on-mac-mh40584/10.14/mac/10.14 (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://support.apple.com/guide/mac-help/commands-for-dictating-text-on-mac-mh40695/mac (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/billing/plans (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/modes/built-in (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://spokenly.app/pricing (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://spokenly.app/download (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://spokenly.app/docs/local-only-mode (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://spokenly.app/docs/modes (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://www.getharker.com (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://www.getharker.com/download (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://handy.computer (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://github.com/cjpais/Handy (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://openwhispr.com (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://openwhispr.com/pricing (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://github.com/OpenWhispr/openwhispr (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://tryvoiceink.com/ (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://tryvoiceink.com/docs/modes (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://github.com/Beingpax/VoiceInk (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://macwhisper.com/ (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/14-how-to-use-the-dictation-feature (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://github.com/ggml-org/whisper.cpp (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://support.google.com/docs/answer/4492226 (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://workspace.google.com/products/docs/ (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://github.com/FrigadeHQ/yap (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://modelpiper.com/toolpiper (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://modelpiper.com/download (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://www.getvoibe.com/ (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://speakmac.app/ (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://wisprflow.ai/pricing (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://wisprflow.ai/privacy (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://github.com/ryleighnewman/YapToText (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://apps.apple.com/us/app/yaptotext/id6786382289 (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://tryvoiceink.com/pricing (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://tryvoiceink.com/privacy (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://tryvoiceink.com/docs/installation (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://tryvoiceink.com/docs/cloud-providers (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.openwhispr.com/ (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://spokenly.app/open-source (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.getvoibe.com/resources/voibe-review/ (checked 2026-10-05)
Questions
What is the best free speech to text app for Mac?
YapToText, for typing by voice into any app with nothing sent off the Mac and no cap; I built it, so weigh that. Apple Dictation if you would rather install nothing. superwhisper and Spokenly have free plans that do not expire.
Is there a free voice to text app for Mac that works offline?
Yes. YapToText, Handy and Yap by Frigade run entirely on the Mac, and the free plans of superwhisper and Spokenly use local models. Apple Dictation is on device for supported languages on Apple silicon.
Is Apple Dictation good enough?
For short pieces of text, often yes: it is built in, works anywhere you can type and adds basic punctuation. It does not format for the app you are in, cannot edit what you already wrote by voice, and stops after 30 seconds of silence.
Is there a free Wispr Flow alternative for Mac?
Yes. Wispr Flow's free plan caps desktop dictation at 2,000 words a week and transcribes in the cloud. YapToText is free with no cap and runs on the Mac, and superwhisper and Spokenly have uncapped free plans with local models.
Which free speech to text app for Mac is open source?
YapToText (GPL-3.0), Handy (MIT), OpenWhispr (MIT), Yap by Frigade (MIT), whisper.cpp (MIT, a command line tool) and VoiceInk (GPL-3.0, free if you build it).
Can I transcribe an audio file for free on a Mac?
Yes. YapToText transcribes any audio or video file, including Voice Memos, on its Utility page, on the Mac. MacWhisper's free version transcribes mp3, wav, m4a, ogg, opus, mov and mp4, and whisper.cpp does it from the command line.
What is the best free speech to text converter for Mac?
It depends on what you are converting. For live speech, the free apps on this page type as you talk. For a recording, YapToText and MacWhisper's free version both transcribe audio and video files on the Mac, so nothing is uploaded to an online converter; MacWhisper also exports subtitles, which YapToText does not.