YapToText compared with other Mac dictation apps

YapToText is free with no paid tier, open source, and runs entirely on your Mac, and of the six apps on this page it is the only one that is all three. I looked for a dictation app that was private, free, and built for someone who cannot type. My hands make typing difficult, so I dictate everything, including this page. The apps I tried were good at the job, but each one asked for something I did not want to give: a monthly fee, my voice on a server, or both. So I built YapToText and gave it away, and this page is the comparison I wish I had found first.

Every statement about another app below comes from that app's own website, documentation, or App Store listing, checked on 2026-09-04. Where an app does not say something, the table says not stated rather than guessing. Prices change, so check for yourself before you buy.

My hands don't work. So I built this. The YapToText headline card with the three recording panels.
The reason the app exists, on the site's share card.

How I checked

I read each app's official site, pricing page, privacy policy, and documentation, plus the Mac App Store listing where one exists, on 2026-09-04. I did not rely on reviews, forum posts, or my memory of using them. Every source is listed at the bottom of this page, and each app gets one link, to its home or pricing page.

Facts about YapToText come from its source repository and its App Store listing. I wrote the app and I wrote this page, so read the YapToText column with that in mind. I have tried to hold my own app to the same standard as the others: what it does, what it costs, and what it does not do.

Side by side

AppPrice at the time of writing (checked 2026-09-04)On device or cloudOpen sourceEdits selected text by voiceAuto formatting
YapToTextFree. No paid tier and no locked features. Optional tip jar.On device. The speech and cleanup models ship inside the app. No network calls except a model download you start yourself.Yes, GPL-3.0Yes. Quick Edit: select text in any app, hold a key, and say the change.Yes. Auto mode picks a format per dictation; Email, Note, Message, Code, and custom modes.
superwhisperFree tier that does not expire. Pro $8.49 per month, $84.99 per year, or $249.99 once.Both. Local models run on the Mac; cloud models hosted by superwhisper or Deepgram are optional.Not statedYes. Super Mode takes spoken commands on selected text. Super Mode is a Pro feature.Yes. Adds punctuation, line breaks, and formatting; modes can switch automatically per app or website.
Wispr FlowFree plan capped at 2,000 words per week on desktop. Pro $15 per user per month, or $12 per user per month billed annually.Cloud. The privacy page says transcription always happens in the cloud.Not statedNot stated. Transform shortcuts rewrite highlighted text from a keystroke using a preset or custom rule.Yes. Context Awareness and Flow Styles adapt formatting to the app category.
MacWhisperFree tier. Pro is a one-time 64 euros with lifetime updates (direct download). A separate, subscription-based App Store edition exists without dictation.On device. Cloud transcription is optional through providers you configure.Not statedNot statedPro only. Automatic grammar improvement and app-specific prompts, which need an AI service to be set up.
VoiceInkFree trial. One-time $25 for 1 Mac, $39 for 2 Macs, or $49 for 3 Macs.On device by default. Optional cloud enhancement sends transcribed text only, with your own API key.Yes, on GitHubYes. Select a passage and say how it should change; it is replaced in place.Yes. Modes clean up dictated text and can restructure it into a note.
Apple DictationIncluded with macOS. Apple lists no price, purchase, or subscription.Either. Keyboard settings show whether it is processed on the Mac; otherwise audio is sent to Apple's servers.Not statedNot in Dictation, whose commands cover formatting, punctuation, capitals, and symbols. Voice Control, a separate accessibility feature, can replace text by voice.Partly. Automatic punctuation in supported languages; number formatting on command.

Prices are what each official site showed on 2026-09-04, at the time of writing. Where two editions of an app exist, the row describes the direct-download version unless it says otherwise.

superwhisper

superwhisper is the app YapToText most resembles in shape: a record shortcut, a local Whisper model, and modes that shape the output.

Price. At the time of writing (checked 2026-09-04) there is a free tier that does not expire and includes unlimited use of Whisper models; new users can try the Pro features for 3,000 words first. Pro is $8.49 per month, $84.99 per year, or $249.99 once. Students get 40 percent off, and purchases carry a no-questions-asked refund within 30 days. All paid plans have the same features and differ only in billing frequency. Pro adds unlimited use of cloud and local AI models, the option to supply your own API keys, and the Super and Email modes, which are not in the free tier.

Where your voice goes. The privacy policy says audio is processed locally on the device, that no audio recordings, transcriptions, or personal information are collected, and that local processing means there is no need for data transmission. On Apple Silicon the offline models run on the Neural Engine; they download once and then run locally. superwhisper also offers cloud voice models, some hosted by superwhisper itself and the Nova series hosted by Deepgram, and it says Intel Macs work best with cloud models. The text formatting step is done by language models that can be local or cloud-based, so which path your words take depends on the models you pick.

Editing and formatting. Super Mode accepts spoken commands on selected text, such as format my selected text as bullet points; the documentation asks that such commands stay within formatting or text transformation. Super Mode also adapts to the active app, the selected text, and the clipboard without you selecting or copying anything, and you can set rules that switch modes automatically by app or website. Punctuation, line breaks, and formatting are added on their own.

Accessibility. superwhisper has a page written for people with RSI, carpal tunnel, tendonitis, and arthritis. It pastes at the cursor so it sits alongside screen readers like VoiceOver and NVDA, it acts as a separate input method that does not interfere with an existing accessibility setup, and the record shortcut can be mapped to an accessibility switch or a foot pedal. The Mac app requires macOS 13.3 or later.

What it does well. A wide choice of speech and language models, local or cloud, and a workable path on Intel Macs. If you want to pick your own models, it fits.

Wispr Flow

Wispr Flow is built around automatic formatting: it removes filler words, adds punctuation, and formats what you say. It is also the app whose design is furthest from mine, because its transcription runs on servers.

Price. At the time of writing (checked 2026-09-04) the free plan is $0 per month and is limited to 2,000 dictated words per week on desktop and 1,000 per week on iPhone; it needs no credit card and includes dictation and the Notetaker with a weekly cap. Flow Pro is $15 per user per month billed monthly or $12 per user per month billed annually, with no commitment, and it can be cancelled at any time. Students and educators with an education email get 50 percent off.

Where your voice goes. The privacy page states that transcription always happens in the cloud to provide the best speed and accuracy. Wispr Flow describes itself as multi-tenant SaaS hosted entirely with a major US cloud provider, and says the third-party models used in Flow Dictation are subject to zero-data-retention agreements, without naming the providers. App and on-screen context is gathered locally and sent with each dictation request unless Privacy Mode is on.

Editing and formatting. Context Awareness reads the active app and adapts accuracy, style, and formatting, so an email reads like an email and a Slack message reads like a Slack message. Flow Styles let you pick a tone for each kind of app, and Flow detects the app category, including web apps by URL, and applies the matching style. Filler words are removed and punctuation is added automatically, and Backtrack drops false starts and spoken self-corrections. For text that already exists, Transform shortcuts apply a preset or custom rule to highlighted text with a single keystroke, for jobs like fixing grammar, shifting tone, translating, or reformatting. The documentation describes this as a keystroke applying a rule; whether the change itself can be spoken is not stated.

Accessibility. Wispr Flow has an accessibility page for people navigating pain, fatigue, vision, or mobility challenges. Its documentation says the app is tested with VoiceOver on the Mac, and that its accessibility features are on by default with no setup. The Mac app requires macOS 12 or later.

What it does well. Formatting per app category, a free plan that works without a card, and support for macOS 12. If cloud processing and a subscription are acceptable to you, and you dictate into many different kinds of apps, it is built for exactly that.

MacWhisper

MacWhisper is a file transcription app with a system-wide dictation mode. It is sold two ways, and which one you get matters.

Price. At the time of writing (checked 2026-09-04) the direct-download version has a free tier listed at 0 euros per month and described as free forever, and MacWhisper Pro is a one-time 64 euros per license with lifetime updates. The Gumroad listing states there is no subscription, with unlimited transcriptions and all current and future updates included. The free tier supports the Whisper model lineup, though some models are only fully available to Pro users. There is also a subscription-based Mac App Store edition called Whisper Transcription. It cannot be unlocked with a Gumroad license key, and dictation is not available in it; dictation is only in the version sold on macwhisper.com.

Where your voice goes. The privacy policy states that all functionality runs on the device and no audio, text, or other data leaves it; the only network traffic it describes is anonymous analytics about license status. Cloud transcription is optional and opt-in through OpenAI, ElevenLabs, Deepgram, Groq, Gladia, and custom Whisper servers, and the App Store edition offers an optional Assistant subscription that transcribes on the developer's servers.

Models. Transcription uses OpenAI's Whisper models from Tiny through Large v2 and v3, plus Nvidia Parakeet, WhisperKit, distilled models, and your own custom GGML models. Parakeet v2 and v3 are Pro features on M-series Macs, advertised at up to 300x realtime.

Dictation and formatting. System-wide dictation with Whisper is offered as a replacement for the built-in dictation. Automatic spelling, punctuation, and grammar improvement in dictation is a Pro feature that requires an AI service to be set up, and prompt-based cleanup, translation, and rewriting of dictated text need an active Pro license plus your own API key. App-specific prompts let you say, for example, that work emails should be spelled correctly and read professionally. I found no statement about editing already-selected text by voice, so the table says not stated.

Requirements and accessibility. M-series Macs are recommended, Intel Macs also work, and the Medium and Large models need more than 8GB of RAM. Older systems get frozen builds: 2.22 for Monterey and 10.9.2 for Ventura. The App Store edition requires macOS 14.0 or later. On the App Store listing the developer has not yet indicated which accessibility features the app supports, though the version history cites VoiceOver improvements to progress indicators and the playback scrubber.

What it does well. Transcribing files with a very wide choice of models, on device, for a one-time price. If most of your work is turning recordings into text and dictation is secondary, it is built for that.

VoiceInk

VoiceInk is the app closest to YapToText in its choices: local by default, open source, and able to rewrite selected text by voice. The main difference is price.

Price. At the time of writing (checked 2026-09-04) the pricing page shows three one-time licenses, each marked down: Solo at $25 (previously $29) for 1 Mac, Personal at $39 (previously $49) for up to 2 Macs, and Extended at $49 (previously $69) for up to 3 Macs. Every tier includes lifetime access, lifetime updates, and a 14-day money-back guarantee, and there is a free trial. VoiceInk states there are no subscriptions or recurring fees.

Where your voice goes. By default all voice transcription runs locally and voice audio never leaves the Mac; the privacy policy says transcription happens entirely on device using local models by default. Cloud enhancement is optional and sends only transcribed text, not audio. Cloud providers are used only when you supply an API key and select them, and no data leaves the computer unless you explicitly turn those optional services on.

Open source. VoiceInk is built in public on GitHub, in the repository Beingpax/VoiceInk, so every line can be read, audited, or built.

Editing and formatting. Select a rough passage, say how it should change, and VoiceInk replaces it in place with a clearer version. Its modes clean up dictated text using the selected text and on-screen context when available, and can turn a free-flowing spoken update into a note with an introduction, a scannable list, and a closing action.

Requirements. Apple Silicon only, macOS 14.4 or later, with 8GB of RAM recommended. Intel Macs are not supported. Local transcription can use Whisper or Parakeet models.

What it does well. A local, open-source dictation app with voice editing and a one-time price. If you would rather pay once than tip, or you want Parakeet as an option, it is a sound choice.

Apple Dictation

Apple Dictation is already on every Mac. It is a built-in macOS feature, and Apple's guide lists no price, purchase, or subscription for it (checked 2026-09-04, at the time of writing).

Where your voice goes. Keyboard settings show whether general-text Dictation is processed on the Mac and not sent to Siri servers, and Apple says on-device dictation performs all of its processing offline. When it is not processed on device, what you dictate is sent to and processed on Apple's servers, and is not stored unless you opt in to Improve Siri and Dictation. Apple's troubleshooting guide notes that an internet connection may be required, and Dictation is not available in all languages or regions.

Editing and formatting. There is no timeout: you can dictate text of any length. In supported languages it inserts commas, periods, and question marks automatically, and auto-punctuation can be turned off. You can say the name of an emoji, such as heart emoji, or say numeral to format the next phrase as a number, and ambiguous text is underlined in blue so you can pick an alternative. Dictation's commands cover formatting, punctuation, capital letters, and symbols; Apple lists no Dictation command for selecting, replacing, or deleting text that is already there.

Accessibility. For entering text and controlling the Mac entirely by voice, Apple points to Voice Control, a separate accessibility feature. With Voice Control you can navigate the desktop and apps, interact with what is on screen, and dictate and edit text, including commands like Replace cat with dog.

What it does well. Nothing to install, no cap on length, and it is one setting away. Paired with Voice Control it is a complete hands-free system, and YapToText is built to work alongside VoiceOver and Voice Control rather than replace them.

What YapToText does differently

Here is the same set of facts for my own app, taken from its source repository and App Store listing.

  • Free, with no feature gates. Every feature is available the moment you install it. There is no paid tier, no locked features, no ads, and no account. There is a tip jar in the app if you want to leave one, and that is it.
  • Everything runs on your Mac. It ships with Whisper Large v3 Turbo for speech and a bundled cleanup model, Phi-3.5 Mini, both inside the app, so it works offline from the first launch with no downloads and no setup. There are no analytics, no tracking, and no accounts. The only network use is a model download you start yourself, and any Whisper speech model or GGUF cleanup model can be dropped into the model library.
  • Open source. Every line is public under GPL-3.0, including the speech and cleanup pipeline, so the privacy claims can be checked rather than taken on faith.
  • Quick Edit. Select text in any app, hold a key, and say the change: make this shorter, fix the spelling. The result lands where the selection was.
  • Auto mode. It reads each dictation and picks the format itself: emails come out as emails, casual messages stay as spoken, and everything else is cleaned up. It listens to the app you are dictating into, spoken requests like make that formal, and the text you have selected. It is conservative by design: it fixes what the mic misheard and does not rewrite your voice, drop a sentence, or add words you did not say.
  • Dictation that behaves like dictation. Say question mark and the mark lands where you said it, with no stray period left behind, and a punctuation name spoken mid-sentence stays a word. Intelligent insert adapts case, spacing, and punctuation to the text around your cursor when you dictate into the middle of a sentence. Voice corrections include scratch that, replace X with Y, and add this to my dictionary.
  • Modes. Auto, Raw Transcription, Clean Up, Note, Email, Message, and Code are built in; press 1 through 9 while dictating to pick one. Create your own with custom instructions and assign a default per app.
  • Built for someone who cannot type. One tap of Right Command starts everything, or remap it to any shortcut, down to a single bare key. Push-to-talk or toggle, pause and resume, cancel with Esc, and silence auto-stop. It works alongside VoiceOver and Voice Control. Auto-amplify measures your voice against the room and lifts quiet speech, and background noise is removed before transcription. More on the accessibility page.
  • Teach it your words. Dictionaries shape what the app hears, not just what it types, and fixing the same word twice makes it offer to remember it. Commands type anything you say: insert phone number types your real number.
  • Never lose a word. Crash recovery rescues an interrupted dictation on the next launch. History keeps audio playback, search, editing, and export, with statistics computed locally.
  • Files too. Drop in an audio or video file and get the text.

What it does not do. It runs only on Apple Silicon Macs with macOS 14 or later, so there is no Intel build. There is no cloud option at all, which is the point, but it means no server-side models. Microphone is the one required permission; Accessibility lets it type into other apps and read the text around your cursor, and without it your text goes to the clipboard. Details are on the install page, the help pages, and the privacy page, and release notes are under what's new.

Which one to pick

I wrote YapToText for one situation, and it is not everyone's.

  • You cannot type, or you want your voice to stay on your Mac and you do not want to pay: YapToText. It is free, on device, open source, and edits selected text by voice.
  • You want to choose your own models, local or cloud, or you are on an Intel Mac: superwhisper. Its free tier does not expire, and Pro can be bought once.
  • You dictate into many different apps and want formatting per app, and cloud processing with a subscription is fine: Wispr Flow. It also runs on macOS 12.
  • You mostly transcribe recordings and want many models on device for a one-time price: MacWhisper's direct-download version. Dictation is not in its App Store edition.
  • You want a local, open-source dictation app with voice editing and would rather pay once: VoiceInk.
  • You want nothing to install: Apple Dictation, with Voice Control when you need to edit or drive the Mac by voice.

Prices and features on this page were checked on 2026-09-04 and will drift. If I have something wrong about your app, open an issue on the YapToText repository and I will fix it.

Sources

Questions

Is there a free superwhisper alternative?

YapToText is free with no paid tier and no locked features, runs entirely on your Mac, and is open source. superwhisper also has a free tier that does not expire and includes unlimited use of Whisper models; its Super and Email modes and its cloud and local AI models are in Pro, which was $8.49 per month, $84.99 per year, or $249.99 once at the time of writing (checked 2026-09-04).

Is there a Wispr Flow alternative for Mac that does not use the cloud?

Yes. Wispr Flow's privacy page says transcription always happens in the cloud. YapToText, superwhisper's local models, MacWhisper, VoiceInk, and Apple's on-device Dictation all transcribe on the Mac. Of those, YapToText is free with no paid tier, and it ships with its speech and cleanup models so it works offline from the first launch.

MacWhisper vs YapToText: what is the difference?

MacWhisper is a file transcription app with system-wide dictation, a large choice of models, and a one-time 64 euro Pro license (checked 2026-09-04, at the time of writing). Its dictation cleanup needs Pro plus your own API key for an AI service, and dictation is not in its App Store edition. YapToText is dictation first: free, with the cleanup model bundled inside the app, Quick Edit for selected text, and Auto mode. Both process on device.

VoiceInk vs YapToText: how do they differ?

VoiceInk has a free trial and then a one-time license from $25 (checked 2026-09-04, at the time of writing); YapToText is free with no paid tier and a voluntary tip jar. Both are open source, both run locally by default, and both rewrite selected text by voice. VoiceInk requires macOS 14.4 or later and YapToText requires macOS 14 or later; both need Apple Silicon.

Is YapToText really free? What is the catch?

There is no catch. No paid tier, no locked features, no ads, and no data collection. There is a tip jar in the app if you want to use it. I built it because I need it, and charging disabled people for the ability to type felt wrong.

All help topics ยท YapToText home