The best dictation software and apps for Mac in October 2026
By Ryleigh Newman · Published · Updated
The best dictation software for Mac in October 2026, if dictation means typing by voice into any app, is YapToText for free dictation that stays on the Mac and edits by voice, then Apple Dictation if you would rather install nothing, then the free plans of superwhisper, Spokenly and Harker, and the open-source Handy and OpenWhispr. Free here means a tier you can use every day with no trial clock, and I read every fact about another app on its own site on October 3, 2026. I built YapToText, so weigh my pick with that in mind.
Checked October 3, 2026. Prices change, so check before you switch.
| App | Best for | What is free | Paid | Where your voice goes | Edits by voice |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| YapToText | Typing by voice all day, with edits by voice | Everything, no account, no cap | None; tips are optional | Stays on the Mac | Yes, Quick Edit |
| Apple Dictation | Installing nothing | Everything, built in | None | On the Mac for supported languages on Apple silicon; otherwise Apple | No |
| superwhisper | Choosing your own models | Unlimited dictation with local Whisper models, up to two modes without AI | $8.49 a month, $84.99 a year or $249.99 once | Stays on the device with local models | Pro only |
| Spokenly | A hard offline switch | Local Whisper and Parakeet models, no usage limits, no account | $9.99 a month or $99.99 a year | Stays on the Mac with local models | Not stated |
| Harker | Plain local typing on macOS 12 or later | Unlimited local transcription, auto-paste anywhere | Premium from $5.75 a month | Stays on the Mac; Premium text features use the cloud | Not stated |
| Handy | The smallest open-source tool | Everything | None; donations welcome | Stays on your computer | Not stated |
| OpenWhispr | Open source on more than one platform | Unlimited local dictation, plus 2,000 words a week on its cloud | $8 a month or $80 a year | Stays on your computer with local models | Yes, its voice agent rewrites a highlighted sentence |
I dictate everything because my hands make typing difficult, so these are the apps I would hand a friend who has to type by voice. The wider roundup of free speech to text and voice to text apps adds file transcribers and command line tools.

Download for free. No account, nothing locked, macOS 14 or later on Apple silicon. Source on GitHub.
On this page: 12 sections
- How I judged them
- 1. YapToText: free, on device, edits by voice
- 2. Apple Dictation: install nothing
- 3. superwhisper: a free plan with Pro behind it
- 4. Spokenly: free local models with an offline switch
- 5. Harker: free local dictation, formatting for sale
- 6. Handy: the smallest open-source dictation app
- 7. OpenWhispr: open source, local dictation free
- Which one I would pick
- What I did not test
- The short version
- Questions
How I judged them
A transcriber turns a recording into a document. A dictation app types while you talk, into whatever app already has your cursor, and that is the job this page ranks. The order comes from what typing by voice all day needs, most important first: a free tier with no clock on it, your voice staying on the Mac, text landing in any app, a way to edit by voice, and code you can read.
I compared these apps on their makers' own published facts. I did not benchmark them against each other, which is why the title says picks and not tested. Every outside fact here comes from the maker's own site, read on October 3, 2026.
1. YapToText: free, on device, edits by voice
This is the one I use all day. One tap of Right Command starts a dictation in any app, and the second tap types the result at your cursor; Hold to talk and any other single key are options. Auto mode shapes the text for where it lands, so a reply in Mail becomes an email and a quick chat message stays as you said it. When a word comes out wrong, "replace X with Y" fixes it without a key, and Quick Edit rewrites a selection when you tap Right Option and say the change. Both models are inside the App Store version, so there is no account, no cap and nothing sent away.

- Free tier: Everything. Tips are optional and change nothing.
- Paid: None.
- Where your voice goes: Nowhere; it stays on the Mac.
- Watch out for: It needs an Apple silicon Mac with macOS 14 or later, and the Homebrew build has no models until you download one.

The speech to text on Mac guide walks through the first dictation, and the voice to text page covers a full day of it.
2. Apple Dictation: install nothing
Apple Dictation is already on your Mac. Turn it on in System Settings, Keyboard, Dictation, then press the Microphone key or your Dictation shortcut and talk. It punctuates as you go in supported languages, and on Apple silicon you can keep typing while it listens. Two things decide whether it is enough: it ends a session after 30 seconds without speech, and its commands insert punctuation and formatting but cannot select, delete or replace what you wrote. Voice Control can, but while Voice Control is on, it replaces Dictation.
- Free tier: Everything, built into macOS.
- Paid: None.
- Where your voice goes: On the Mac for supported languages on Apple silicon; Apple's Sonoma guide says Intel Macs and other languages send it to Apple.
- Watch out for: The 30-second silence cutoff.
3. superwhisper: a free plan with Pro behind it
The free plan is a working dictation app, not a demo: pick a local Whisper model and it types into any app with no word limit, with custom vocabulary and text replacements included. The catch is modes. The free plan allows two, without AI processing, so cleanup, Super Mode and the other AI modes belong to Pro. A new account starts with 3,000 words of Pro, then drops to the free plan without deleting anything.
- Free tier: Local Whisper models with no word limit, vocabulary, replacements, and two modes without AI.
- Paid: $8.49 a month, $84.99 a year or $249.99 once, with one license for its Mac, Windows, iPhone and Android apps.
- Where your voice goes: On the device with local models; superwhisper says nothing you dictate on the free plan leaves it.
- Watch out for: Its FAQ says Intel Macs work best with its cloud models.
The superwhisper alternative page compares it with YapToText feature by feature.
4. Spokenly: free local models with an offline switch
Spokenly dictates the walkie-talkie way: hold its shortcut, talk, and let go, and the words appear in the app you are using. Its local Whisper and Parakeet models are free with no limits and no account. For a privacy guarantee you can see, Local Only Mode cuts every connection except model downloads, and an organization can lock it on. Modes can carry their own shortcut and turn on by themselves in a given app or website.
- Free tier: Local models, unlimited, no account; your own API keys at no charge.
- Paid: Pro at $9.99 a month or $99.99 a year, with a 14-day refund.
- Where your voice goes: On the Mac with local models.
- Watch out for: It needs macOS 13.3 or later, and editing a selection by voice is not stated.
5. Harker: free local dictation, formatting for sale
Harker keeps dictation simple: one global shortcut, hold to listen, and the words paste wherever you were typing. Every Whisper model size is free and unlimited, with no account. What it sells is the step after the words: writing styles, email and note formatting, grammar, translation and custom instructions are Premium, from $5.75 a month after a 7-day trial, and Harker says those run in the cloud while your voice stays on the Mac. Its download page lists macOS 12 or later.
- Free tier: Unlimited local transcription and auto-paste, no account.
- Paid: Premium from $5.75 a month.
- Where your voice goes: On the Mac; Premium text features go to the cloud.
- Watch out for: The formatting and cleanup that YapToText includes are what Premium sells, and editing a selection by voice is not stated.
6. Handy: the smallest open-source dictation app
Handy is one shortcut and nothing else: hold it to record and let go, or tap it to toggle, and it pastes what you said into the app you are using. It is MIT licensed, funded by donations, and works offline with Whisper or Parakeet models, on macOS, Windows and Linux, with an Intel Mac build. An optional post-processing pass exists if you want cleanup. If you want nothing between your voice and the text, this is it.
- Free tier: Everything.
- Paid: None; donations are welcome.
- Where your voice goes: On your computer, per its README.
- Watch out for: Formatting for the app you are in and editing a selection by voice are not stated.
7. OpenWhispr: open source, local dictation free
OpenWhispr is the open-source pick if you also work on Windows or Linux. Local dictation is unlimited and free, with Whisper, Parakeet and other local models, and you can plug in your own API keys for cloud models at no charge from the app. Its own cloud gives free accounts 2,000 words a week; Pro, at $8 a month or $80 a year, lifts that and adds meeting hours, sync and an iPhone and iPad app.
- Free tier: Unlimited local dictation; 2,000 cloud words a week.
- Paid: $8 a month or $80 a year; Business at $16 a user a month.
- Where your voice goes: On your computer with local models; it leaves only if you turn on a cloud model.
- Watch out for: Formatting for the app you are in is not stated. Its voice agent key rewrites a highlighted sentence in place, per its own site.
Which one I would pick
Pick by what you need, smallest commitment first:
- Install nothing. Try Apple Dictation for a day. If the 30-second cutoff and the lack of editing never bother you, you are done.
- Free, on the Mac, with editing by voice. YapToText. It is what I use all day.
- Free now, paid later. superwhisper for model choice, Spokenly for a hard offline switch, Harker for macOS 12.
- Open source on Windows or Linux too. Handy or OpenWhispr.
Where to read next depends on what you are after:
- Transcribing a recording. If what you need is a transcript rather than typing, that is a different list: transcribing audio on a Mac for free.
- Weighing a paid app. The Wispr Flow pricing page and the VoiceInk alternative page have the numbers, and Apple Dictation versus Wispr Flow compares the two most people start with.
- Knowing what to look for. The dictation software for Mac page lists what to look for in any of them.
- Leaving a paid app. The Wispr Flow alternatives roundup and the Aqua Voice alternative page compare the cloud apps.
- Writing long drafts. Dictation for writers covers the habits and settings that help.
What I did not test
- Accuracy. I have not run a word error test across these apps, so nothing here ranks them by accuracy.
- Prices tomorrow. Every price was read on October 3, 2026, and prices move. The sources at the end say which page to check.
- Every Mac. Intel support and macOS versions are as each maker states them.
The short version
- Typing by voice all day, free. YapToText.
- Nothing to install. Apple Dictation.
- A company's free plan. superwhisper, Spokenly or Harker.
- Open source everywhere. Handy or OpenWhispr.
Try the free one that fits, and keep it only if it disappears into your day. If a fact here has changed, tell me on GitHub. Every issue gets read.
Download for free. No account, nothing locked, macOS 14 or later on Apple silicon. Source on GitHub.
Related
Sources
- https://support.apple.com/guide/mac-help/use-dictation-mh40584/mac (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://support.apple.com/guide/mac-help/use-dictation-mh40584/14.0/mac/14.0 (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/billing/plans (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/modes/built-in (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://spokenly.app/pricing (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://spokenly.app/download (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://spokenly.app/docs (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://spokenly.app/docs/local-only-mode (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://spokenly.app/docs/modes (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://www.getharker.com (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://www.getharker.com/download (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://handy.computer (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://github.com/cjpais/Handy (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://github.com/cjpais/Handy/releases (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://openwhispr.com (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://openwhispr.com/pricing (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://github.com/OpenWhispr/openwhispr (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://tryvoiceink.com/ (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://wisprflow.ai/privacy (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://apps.apple.com/us/app/yaptotext/id6786382289 (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.openwhispr.com/ (checked 2026-10-05)
Questions
What is the best free dictation app for Mac?
YapToText, if you want free dictation into any app that stays on the Mac and edits by voice; I built it, so weigh that. Apple Dictation if you would rather install nothing. superwhisper, Spokenly and Harker have free plans with paid tiers behind them.
Is there a free dictation app for Mac?
Yes. YapToText, Handy and OpenWhispr's local dictation are free with no cap, Apple Dictation is built in, and superwhisper, Spokenly and Harker have free plans that keep some features for a paid tier.
Is Mac dictation free?
Yes. Apple Dictation is built into macOS at no cost; turn it on in System Settings, Keyboard, Dictation. YapToText is a free app with no paid tier that adds editing by voice and formatting for the app you are in.
Which dictation app can edit text by voice on a Mac?
YapToText, for free: select text in any app, tap the Quick Edit key and say the change. VoiceInk rewrites a selection too, as a paid app, and superwhisper's Pro plan handles formatting commands on selected text. Apple Dictation cannot; macOS Voice Control can, with its own commands.
Does a free dictation app for Mac work offline?
Yes, several do. YapToText and Handy run entirely on the Mac, and superwhisper, Spokenly, Harker and OpenWhispr work offline with their local models. Apple Dictation does on Apple silicon in supported languages. Wispr Flow does not: its transcription always happens in the cloud.