A free Monologue alternative that keeps dictation and cleanup on your Mac
By Ryleigh Newman ยท Published
YapToText is a free Monologue alternative for the Mac: its speech model and its cleanup model both run on your Mac, there is no account to make, and no trial runs out after 1,000 words. Monologue does real things I do not. It comes from Every, it runs on iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch as well as the Mac, it records meetings without a bot, and it has its own dictation model, mono-1. I built YapToText, so read this with that in mind. Every Monologue fact here comes from monologue.to, its help center and every.to, read on October 5, 2026.
My hands make typing difficult, so I dictate every day with YapToText. I wanted that dictation, cleanup included, to work with the Wi-Fi off and to cost nothing.
Download for free. No account, nothing locked, macOS 14 or later on Apple silicon. Source on GitHub.
On this page: 10 sections
Steps
- Install YapToText from the Mac App Store and open it.
- Allow the microphone, then switch YapToText on in System Settings, Privacy & Security, Accessibility.
- Quit Monologue, keep Right Command or pick another key, and dictate one sentence into a text field.
- Select a name on screen, tap Right Option, say add this to my dictionary, and add the rest of your Monologue words on the Dictionaries page.
What Monologue is, per its own site
Monologue calls itself a voice dictation app for Mac that writes the way you talk. Every, the company behind it, says it was built by Naveen Naidu, Every's entrepreneur in residence, and that it comes with a paid Every subscription alongside Every's other apps. Its site now describes dictation, voice notes and bot-free meeting notes in one app.
- Dictation in any app. Hold the right-side Option key while you talk and let go to finish. For longer dictations there is a separate hands-free shortcut: tap once to start and again to finish.
- Smart formatting. Text comes out formatted for the app you are in, and Monologue switches modes by app, so a Slack message and a client email do not read the same.
- A personal dictionary. Names, acronyms and company words are saved as you go and used everywhere.
- Deep Context. With the optional Screen Recording permission, it uses what is on screen to get the details right.
- mono-1. Monologue's own dictation model. Monologue says it needed about 55% fewer estimated edits than its previous API-based pipeline and delivered finished dictation 3 times faster by median API response time. That is Monologue's own measurement, and I have not repeated it.
- Notes and meetings. On a Mac it records your microphone and the Mac's system audio together, so it captures a meeting without adding a bot to the call, then transcribes and summarizes the note and syncs it to your other devices.
- Languages and tools. More than 100 languages, and its site lists MCP, API and CLI access.
Monologue is a polished voice app for Apple devices, sold by subscription, and it is good at what it does.
Side by side
Checked October 5, 2026, on Monologue's own pages: monologue.to, its help center and docs, and every.to. Prices change, so check before you switch.
| YapToText | Monologue | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Free, no paid tier | Free trial; Pro $15 a month, or $144 a year; Pro is included with an Every subscription |
| The free version | Everything | A trial of 1,000 dictation words and 10 recorded notes, with offline transcription, context-aware formatting and more than 100 languages |
| Where speech is processed | On the Mac | By Monologue's AI providers, with zero data retention; an optional local model transcribes on Apple silicon Macs |
| Works with Wi-Fi off | Yes, the App Store build, cleanup included | Transcription does, with the local model; smart formatting and syncing need a connection |
| Account | None | Create one or sign in on first launch |
| Open source | Yes, GPL-3.0 | Not stated |
| Platforms | Mac only | Mac, iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch; Windows and Android by waitlist |
| Mac requirement | macOS 14 or later, Apple silicon | Apple silicon for local transcription; check its site for the rest |
| Default key | Right Command, tap to start and stop | Right Option, held while you talk, plus a hands-free shortcut |
| Speech model | Whisper Large v3 Turbo (Q5), on the Mac | mono-1, Monologue's own |
| Context it reads | The words around your cursor, plus your selection or clipboard when a mode asks for them | What is on screen, with Deep Context and the Screen Recording permission |
| Edits selected text by voice | Yes, Quick Edit | Not stated |
| Meeting notes | No | Yes, microphone and system audio, no bot |
| Languages | 29 plus auto-detect | More than 100 |
Monologue's trial is counted in words, and unlimited dictation is part of Pro. YapToText has one tier, so nothing counts down. Both can transcribe without the internet on an Apple silicon Mac; only YapToText also cleans up the text there. The roundup of Wispr Flow alternatives ranks more apps like these, and the Aqua Voice alternative page covers another app whose free start is 1,000 words.
What you keep, and what changes
Here is the switch job by job: what Monologue does first, then what YapToText does instead.
- Dictating into any app. Monologue's default is to hold Right Option while you talk. In YapToText you tap Right Command to start and tap again to stop, or choose Hold to talk if your hands prefer holding. Intelligent Insert reads the words around your cursor first, so a sentence dropped into the middle of a paragraph gets the right capital and spacing.
- Formatting. Monologue formats for the app you are in, through what its help center calls a network-backed formatting pipeline. Without a connection, it falls back to the raw transcript. YapToText's Auto mode, on by default, does that job on the Mac: a letter with a greeting and a sign-off becomes an email, a short chat stays exactly as spoken, and everything else gets a careful pass that fixes what was misheard and rewrites nothing. When the words leave it open, Mail and Outlook lean email, Slack and Messages lean chat, and code editors lean Code Comment. The Auto mode guide lists every app.
- What it can see. Monologue's Deep Context can use your screen. YapToText reads the words around your cursor and, when a mode asks, your selection or clipboard. It never records your screen.
- Your names and words. Monologue saves a personal dictionary as you go. YapToText's Dictionaries shape what the speech model hears, not just what it types, and fixing the same word twice makes the app offer to remember it. The Dictionaries guide shows how.
- Price. Monologue's trial is 1,000 dictation words and 10 recorded notes. Pro is $15 a month or $144 a year, and it is included with an Every subscription. YapToText is free with no paid tier, and the optional tips buy no features.
- Where your voice goes. To be fair to Monologue, its data privacy page says it does not save dictation audio or transcripts on its servers, and that its AI providers process dictation with zero data retention, so it is not kept for model training. Notes are different: when you record one, Monologue stores its audio, transcript and summary in your account so they sync. In YapToText your voice never leaves the Mac, and the only network use is a model download you start yourself. The offline dictation guide shows how to test that with Wi-Fi off.

You give up iPhone, Apple Watch, meeting notes and mono-1, and your dictation, cleanup included, stays on your Mac.
Move over in about ten minutes
Four steps and no account. Step 3 matters more than usual here, because Monologue's dictation key is Right Option, and that is also YapToText's Quick Edit key. Quit Monologue before your first test, so only one app answers Right Option.
Step 1: Install YapToText
- You: Get YapToText from the Mac App Store and open it.
- YapToText: Opens a short welcome tour. Both models are already inside the App Store version, so there is nothing else to download.
- Check: The tour's second page is titled A couple of permissions.
Step 2: Allow the microphone and Accessibility
- You: On that page, press Continue next to Microphone, then next to Accessibility.
- macOS: Asks once for the microphone, then opens System Settings, Privacy & Security, Accessibility, where you switch YapToText on yourself. An app cannot do that part for you.
- Check: Both cards read Granted. If Accessibility will not stay on, press Show in Finder in the Get set up card on the Home page, drag the app into the list, and press Recheck. Without Accessibility, every dictation goes to the clipboard instead of your cursor.
Step 3: Quit Monologue, pick your key and dictate once
- You: Quit Monologue, so two apps are not listening for the same key. On the tour's Your controls page, keep Right Command, or choose Hold to talk if your hands learned Monologue's hold. Then click into a text field and dictate a sentence.
- YapToText: Shows your voice as a wave and your words as they form, then types the finished text at your cursor.
- Check: The words land where your cursor was. If the wave stays flat, the app is not hearing your microphone yet.
If your hands want Right Option for dictation, move Quick Edit first: its key lives in the Key card on the Quick Edit page. Then record Right Option in the Keys card on the Dictation page and pick Hold to talk. The key field shows a red warning if two jobs share a key. The keys and shortcuts guide lists every key that can start a dictation.

Step 4: Bring your words over
Say: Select a name anywhere on screen, tap Right Option, say this, and tap Right Option again.
add this to my dictionaryWhat happens: The Quick Edit card says the word was added to your dictionary, and from then on YapToText spells and capitalizes it the way you selected it.
- You: Use the phrase above on names already on screen, and add the rest from your Monologue dictionary on the Dictionaries page, each with the spelling it gets heard as and the spelling you want.
- YapToText: Uses those words to prime the speech model, so it hears them as well as types them.
- Check: Dictate a sentence with one of them. It comes out spelled your way.

The first dictation guide covers the floating panel and the keys you can press while you talk.
Monologue vs Wispr Flow, and where YapToText sits
Monologue vs Wispr Flow comes down to devices and offline use, because the price of Pro lands in the same place. Monologue Pro is $15 a month or $144 a year, and Wispr Flow Pro is $15 per user a month, or $12 a month billed yearly. Monologue can transcribe offline on an Apple silicon Mac with its local model; Wispr Flow's privacy page says transcription always happens in the cloud. Wispr Flow runs on Windows and Android, where Monologue has a waitlist.
Checked October 5, 2026, on monologue.to; Wispr Flow checked October 3, 2026, on wisprflow.ai and docs.wisprflow.ai.
| YapToText | Monologue | Wispr Flow | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | Free | Pro $15 a month, or $144 a year | Pro $15 per user a month, or $12 billed yearly |
| Free version | Everything, no word limit | A trial of 1,000 dictation words | 2,000 words a week on desktop, 1,000 on mobile |
| Where speech is processed | On the Mac | Monologue's AI providers, or a local model on Apple silicon | Always in the cloud |
| Devices | Mac | Mac, iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch | Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android |
| Edits text by voice | Yes, Quick Edit | Not stated | Command Mode, experimental, for paid plans and trials |
| Meetings | No | Bot-free meeting notes | Notetaker |
| Open source | Yes, GPL-3.0 | Not stated | Not stated |
Where YapToText sits: free with no word limit, on one Apple silicon Mac, with the cleanup model inside so formatting does not need the internet either. The Wispr Flow alternative page compares Wispr Flow with YapToText in detail.
Wispr Flow if you need Windows or Android, Monologue if you live on Apple devices and want meeting notes, and YapToText if you want the Mac to do all of it for free.
Which one I would pick
I built one of these, so here is my honest split, by what you need:
- You already pay for Every. Monologue Pro is included, so try it first. You lose nothing by keeping YapToText around for days without Wi-Fi.
- You dictate on an iPhone, iPad or Apple Watch too. Monologue. YapToText has no app off the Mac.
- You want meeting notes without a bot. Monologue. YapToText transcribes a recording you already have, as plain text, from the Transcribe File button on its History page, but it does not record meetings.
- You want no account and no subscription. YapToText. There is nothing to sign in to and nothing to renew.
- You want cleanup to work offline. YapToText. Its cleanup model, Phi-3.5 Mini Instruct, ships in the App Store app, so formatting works on a plane.
- You want to read the code. YapToText, under GPL-3.0 on GitHub.
If your dictation lives on one Mac, start with the free one; if it follows you across Apple devices, Monologue earns its fee.
What each one cannot do
Monologue
- Windows and Android. Both are on a waitlist.
- Formatting offline. The local model transcribes without internet, but smart formatting and syncing still need a connection, and without one you get the raw transcript.
- Local transcription on Intel. Its help center says local transcription needs an Apple silicon Mac.
- Unlimited use for free. The trial is 1,000 dictation words and 10 recorded notes; unlimited dictation is Pro.
- Skipping the account. You create one or sign in on first launch.
YapToText
- Other devices. It runs only on the Mac, with no iPhone, iPad or Apple Watch app and no sync.
- Intel or older Macs. It needs Apple silicon and macOS 14 or later.
- Meetings. No meeting recording, speaker labels or summaries.
- Your screen. Nothing like Deep Context: it reads the words around your cursor, not the screen.
- Languages. 29 plus auto-detect, against Monologue's more than 100. The languages guide lists all 29.
- A tested screen reader path. It announces every state to VoiceOver, but I have not run a VoiceOver test pass yet.
Each one is honest about a different trade: Monologue spans your Apple devices, and YapToText keeps everything on one Mac.
The short version
- Who should switch. Anyone whose dictation lives on one Apple silicon Mac and should stay there, with no account and no subscription.
- Who should stay. Anyone who needs iPhone, iPad or Apple Watch, bot-free meeting notes, more than 29 languages, or already has Monologue through Every.
- What it costs. YapToText is free. Monologue's trial is 1,000 dictation words, and Pro is $15 a month or $144 a year, checked October 5, 2026.
- How long it takes. About ten minutes: install, Accessibility, one test dictation with Monologue quit, then your words.
The same job, one key and your words at the cursor, with the account and the subscription taken out.
If something here no longer matches Monologue's site, tell me on GitHub. Every one gets read.
Download for free. No account, nothing locked, macOS 14 or later on Apple silicon. Source on GitHub.
Related
Sources
- https://www.monologue.to/ (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.monologue.to/pricing (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.monologue.to/data-privacy (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.monologue.to/docs/getting-started/mac (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.monologue.to/docs/getting-started/first-dictation (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.monologue.to/docs/dictation/languages-and-models (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.monologue.to/blog/introducing-mono-1 (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.monologue.to/waitlist (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://every.to/on-every/introducing-monologue-effortless-voice-dictation (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://every.to/on-every/introducing-monologue-for-ios (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://wisprflow.ai/pricing (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://wisprflow.ai/privacy (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.wisprflow.ai/articles/2772472373-what-is-flow (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.wisprflow.ai/articles/4816967992-how-to-use-command-mode (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://apps.apple.com/us/app/yaptotext/id6786382289 (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://github.com/ryleighnewman/YapToText (checked 2026-10-03)
Questions
Is there a free alternative to Monologue?
Yes. YapToText is free for Apple silicon Macs, with no account, no paid tier and no word limit, and both its speech model and its cleanup model run on the Mac. Monologue itself offers a free trial of 1,000 dictation words.
Is Monologue free?
Only as a trial. Monologue's free trial includes 1,000 dictation words and 10 recorded notes, and Pro, with unlimited dictation, is $15 a month or $144 a year, checked October 5, 2026. Pro is also included with an Every subscription.
Does Monologue work offline?
Partly. Its help center says a local model, downloaded in Settings, General, Local model, transcribes without an internet connection on Apple silicon Macs, but smart formatting and syncing still need a connection. The App Store build of YapToText transcribes and cleans up offline, because both of its models ship inside the app.
Who makes Monologue?
Every. Every says Monologue was built by its entrepreneur in residence, Naveen Naidu, and that it comes with a paid Every subscription along with Every's other apps.
Monologue vs Wispr Flow: what is the difference?
Devices and offline use. Monologue runs on Mac, iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch and can transcribe offline with its local model, while Wispr Flow also runs on Windows and Android and always transcribes in the cloud. Pro costs $15 a month on both, or $144 a year for Monologue and $12 a month billed yearly for Wispr Flow.
Is Monologue available for Windows?
Not yet. Monologue's site has a waitlist for Windows and Android. YapToText is a Mac app only, so neither runs on Windows today.