superwhisper vs Otter.ai: the two compared on their own makers' numbers
By Ryleigh Newman · Published
superwhisper and Otter.ai do different jobs. superwhisper is dictation: you talk and it types into the app in front, with local or cloud models. Otter is a meeting assistant in the cloud that records and summarizes conversations.
I built YapToText, a free dictation app for the Mac, so read this knowing I make a rival to both. Each fact comes from the maker's own pages, on the dates under the table.
This app is completely free. You don't have to make an account. There are no subscriptions, no difficult downloads, and nothing is locked. Made for Apple silicon Macs. Source on GitHub.
Side by side
superwhisper checked October 5, 2026, on superwhisper.com. Otter.ai checked October 5 and 6, 2026, on otter.ai and its help center. YapToText from its own settings. Prices change, so confirm on each maker's site.
| superwhisper | Otter.ai | YapToText | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Built for | Dictation with AI modes | Meeting notes, with file imports | Dictation, with files as plain text |
| Free | Unlimited local Whisper dictation, vocabulary, replacements, two modes without AI | 300 transcription minutes a month, 30 minutes per conversation, 3 file imports per account | Everything |
| Paid | Pro $8.49 a month, $84.99 a year, or $249.99 once | Pro $16.99 a month, or $8.33 a month billed annually | No paid tier |
| Where speech is processed | On the Mac with local models, or cloud models with Pro | Otter's cloud, on every plan | On the Mac |
| Without internet | Yes, with local models | No | Yes |
| Cleanup | AI modes and Super Mode, with Pro | Summaries and Otter AI Chat | Built in, on the Mac |
| Platforms | Mac, Windows, iPhone and Android | Web, Mac, Windows, iPhone and Android | Apple silicon Macs, macOS 14 or later |
| Open source license | Not stated | Not stated | GPL-3.0 |
Pick by what you need
- Dictation into any app. superwhisper.
- A notetaker that joins calls. Otter.
- Works offline. superwhisper, with local models.
- Pay once. superwhisper, at $249.99.
- A web app with nothing to install. Otter.
For more on each: superwhisper and Otter.ai.
The free third option
YapToText does dictation with cleanup and dictionaries on the Mac, free, with no account, and gives plain text from audio and video files. It runs on Apple silicon Macs with macOS 14 or later and nowhere else. If you need Windows, a phone, subtitles or speaker labels, one of the two above fits better. The superwhisper alternative page and the Otter.ai one compare each with YapToText directly.
This app is completely free. You don't have to make an account. There are no subscriptions, no difficult downloads, and nothing is locked. Made for Apple silicon Macs. Source on GitHub.
The short version
- superwhisper. Dictation with AI modes. Pro $8.49 a month, $84.99 a year, or $249.99 once.
- Otter.ai. Meeting notes, with file imports. Pro $16.99 a month, or $8.33 a month billed annually.
- YapToText. Free dictation with cleanup on one Apple silicon Mac.
If a price or feature here has changed, open an issue on GitHub and I will update this page. Every one gets read.
This app is completely free. You don't have to make an account. There are no subscriptions, no difficult downloads, and nothing is locked. Made for Apple silicon Macs. Source on GitHub.
Related
Sources
- https://superwhisper.com (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/billing/plans (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/get-started/transcribe-files (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/models/voice (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/models/language (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/modes/built-in (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/modes/modes (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com/privacy (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com/download (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/common-issues/app-wont-launch (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://otter.ai/pricing (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://otter.ai/purchase/pro (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://github.com/ryleighnewman/YapToText (checked 2026-10-11)
- https://apps.apple.com/us/app/yaptotext/id6786382289 (checked 2026-10-11)
Questions
What is the difference between superwhisper and Otter.ai?
superwhisper: dictation with ai modes. Otter.ai: meeting notes, with file imports.
Is superwhisper or Otter.ai free?
superwhisper: Unlimited local Whisper dictation, vocabulary, replacements, two modes without AI. Otter.ai: 300 transcription minutes a month, 30 minutes per conversation, 3 file imports per account.
Do superwhisper and Otter.ai work offline?
superwhisper: Yes, with local models. Otter.ai: No.
Is there a free app that runs on the Mac?
YapToText is free, with cleanup built in, on Apple silicon Macs.