MacWhisper vs Aiko: the two compared on their own makers' numbers
By Ryleigh Newman · Published
MacWhisper and Aiko both transcribe recordings on the device with Whisper. MacWhisper has a free version, a one-time Pro license, and dictation in its website version. Aiko is a paid app for Mac, iPhone and Vision Pro that keeps entirely offline.
I built YapToText, a free dictation app for the Mac, so read this knowing I make a rival to both. Each fact comes from the maker's own pages, on the dates under the table.
This app is completely free. You don't have to make an account. There are no subscriptions, no difficult downloads, and nothing is locked. Made for Apple silicon Macs. Source on GitHub.
Side by side
MacWhisper checked October 3 and 5, 2026, on macwhisper.com and its help pages. Aiko checked October 6, 2026, on sindresorhus.com and its App Store listing. YapToText from its own settings. Prices change, so confirm on each maker's site.
| MacWhisper | Aiko | YapToText | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Built for | Transcribing recordings, with dictation added | Transcribing recordings on the device | Dictation, with files as plain text |
| Free | File transcription with .txt, .srt and .vtt export, and dictation in the macwhisper.com version | A 14-day trial through TestFlight | Everything |
| Paid | Pro €64 once | Paid once, a Universal Purchase | No paid tier |
| Where speech is processed | On the Mac with local models, or optional cloud providers | On the device, with Whisper large v2. Its listing says the app cannot connect to the network | On the Mac |
| Without internet | Yes, with local models | Yes | Yes |
| Cleanup | Pro, through an AI provider you set up or a local model | Not stated | Built in, on the Mac |
| Platforms | Mac, Intel included, with an iOS app | macOS, iOS and visionOS. On a Mac: Apple silicon with at least 16 GB, macOS 26 or later for the current version | Apple silicon Macs, macOS 14 or later |
| Open source license | Not stated | Not stated | GPL-3.0 |
Pick by what you need
- A free version. MacWhisper.
- An Intel Mac or less than 16 GB of memory. MacWhisper.
- iPhone and Vision Pro in one purchase. Aiko.
- Dictation into other apps. MacWhisper, in the macwhisper.com version.
- Speakers, batches, meetings. MacWhisper Pro.
For more on each: MacWhisper and Aiko.
The free third option
YapToText does dictation with cleanup and dictionaries on the Mac, free, with no account, and gives plain text from audio and video files. It runs on Apple silicon Macs with macOS 14 or later and nowhere else. If you need Windows, a phone, subtitles or speaker labels, one of the two above fits better. The MacWhisper alternative page and the Aiko one compare each with YapToText directly.
This app is completely free. You don't have to make an account. There are no subscriptions, no difficult downloads, and nothing is locked. Made for Apple silicon Macs. Source on GitHub.
The short version
- MacWhisper. Transcribing recordings, with dictation added. Pro €64 once.
- Aiko. Transcribing recordings on the device. Paid once, a Universal Purchase.
- YapToText. Free dictation with cleanup on one Apple silicon Mac.
If a price or feature here has changed, open an issue on GitHub and I will update this page. Every one gets read.
This app is completely free. You don't have to make an account. There are no subscriptions, no difficult downloads, and nothing is locked. Made for Apple silicon Macs. Source on GitHub.
Related
Sources
- https://www.macwhisper.com (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://www.macwhisper.com/legal/privacy-policy (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/40-macwhisper-whisper-transcription-difference (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/14-how-to-use-the-dictation-feature (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/22-assistant (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/39-licensing (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/34-transcription-is-slower-than-expected (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/33-macwhisper-for-ios (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://apps.apple.com/us/app/whisper-transcription/id1668083311 (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://sindresorhus.com/aiko (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://sindresorhus.com/apps/paid (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://apps.apple.com/us/app/aiko/id1672085276 (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://github.com/ryleighnewman/YapToText (checked 2026-10-11)
- https://apps.apple.com/us/app/yaptotext/id6786382289 (checked 2026-10-11)
Questions
What is the difference between MacWhisper and Aiko?
MacWhisper: transcribing recordings, with dictation added. Aiko: transcribing recordings on the device.
Is MacWhisper or Aiko free?
MacWhisper: File transcription with .txt, .srt and .vtt export, and dictation in the macwhisper.com version. Aiko: A 14-day trial through TestFlight.
Do MacWhisper and Aiko work offline?
MacWhisper: Yes, with local models. Aiko: Yes.
Is there a free app that runs on the Mac?
YapToText is free, with cleanup built in, on Apple silicon Macs.