MacWhisper vs Otter.ai: the two compared on their own makers' numbers
By Ryleigh Newman · Published
MacWhisper and Otter.ai both turn speech into a transcript, in opposite ways. MacWhisper transcribes files on your Mac and is paid once. Otter is a cloud meeting assistant that joins calls, with a monthly allowance of minutes.
I built YapToText, a free dictation app for the Mac, so read this knowing I make a rival to both. Each fact comes from the maker's own pages, on the dates under the table.
This app is completely free. You don't have to make an account. There are no subscriptions, no difficult downloads, and nothing is locked. Made for Apple silicon Macs. Source on GitHub.
Side by side
MacWhisper checked October 3 and 5, 2026, on macwhisper.com and its help pages. Otter.ai checked October 5 and 6, 2026, on otter.ai and its help center. YapToText from its own settings. Prices change, so confirm on each maker's site.
| MacWhisper | Otter.ai | YapToText | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Built for | Transcribing recordings, with dictation added | Meeting notes, with file imports | Dictation, with files as plain text |
| Free | File transcription with .txt, .srt and .vtt export, and dictation in the macwhisper.com version | 300 transcription minutes a month, 30 minutes per conversation, 3 file imports per account | Everything |
| Paid | Pro €64 once | Pro $16.99 a month, or $8.33 a month billed annually | No paid tier |
| Where speech is processed | On the Mac with local models, or optional cloud providers | Otter's cloud, on every plan | On the Mac |
| Without internet | Yes, with local models | No | Yes |
| Cleanup | Pro, through an AI provider you set up or a local model | Summaries and Otter AI Chat | Built in, on the Mac |
| Platforms | Mac, Intel included, with an iOS app | Web, Mac, Windows, iPhone and Android | Apple silicon Macs, macOS 14 or later |
| Open source license | Not stated | Not stated | GPL-3.0 |
Pick by what you need
- Stays on the Mac. MacWhisper, with local models.
- A notetaker that joins Zoom, Google Meet and Teams calls. Otter.
- Pay once. MacWhisper Pro, at €64.
- Many files without an import cap. MacWhisper. Otter's free plan allows 3 file imports per account.
- A phone app and a web app. Otter.
For more on each: MacWhisper and Otter.ai.
The free third option
YapToText does dictation with cleanup and dictionaries on the Mac, free, with no account, and gives plain text from audio and video files. It runs on Apple silicon Macs with macOS 14 or later and nowhere else. If you need Windows, a phone, subtitles or speaker labels, one of the two above fits better. The MacWhisper alternative page and the Otter.ai one compare each with YapToText directly.
This app is completely free. You don't have to make an account. There are no subscriptions, no difficult downloads, and nothing is locked. Made for Apple silicon Macs. Source on GitHub.
The short version
- MacWhisper. Transcribing recordings, with dictation added. Pro €64 once.
- Otter.ai. Meeting notes, with file imports. Pro $16.99 a month, or $8.33 a month billed annually.
- YapToText. Free dictation with cleanup on one Apple silicon Mac.
If a price or feature here has changed, open an issue on GitHub and I will update this page. Every one gets read.
This app is completely free. You don't have to make an account. There are no subscriptions, no difficult downloads, and nothing is locked. Made for Apple silicon Macs. Source on GitHub.
Related
Sources
- https://www.macwhisper.com (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://www.macwhisper.com/legal/privacy-policy (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/40-macwhisper-whisper-transcription-difference (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/14-how-to-use-the-dictation-feature (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/22-assistant (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/39-licensing (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/34-transcription-is-slower-than-expected (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/33-macwhisper-for-ios (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://apps.apple.com/us/app/whisper-transcription/id1668083311 (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://otter.ai/pricing (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://otter.ai/purchase/pro (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://otter.ai/ (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://github.com/ryleighnewman/YapToText (checked 2026-10-11)
- https://apps.apple.com/us/app/yaptotext/id6786382289 (checked 2026-10-11)
Questions
What is the difference between MacWhisper and Otter.ai?
MacWhisper: transcribing recordings, with dictation added. Otter.ai: meeting notes, with file imports.
Is MacWhisper or Otter.ai free?
MacWhisper: File transcription with .txt, .srt and .vtt export, and dictation in the macwhisper.com version. Otter.ai: 300 transcription minutes a month, 30 minutes per conversation, 3 file imports per account.
Do MacWhisper and Otter.ai work offline?
MacWhisper: Yes, with local models. Otter.ai: No.
Is there a free app that runs on the Mac?
YapToText is free, with cleanup built in, on Apple silicon Macs.