MacWhisper vs Spokenly: the two compared on their own makers' numbers
By Ryleigh Newman · Published
MacWhisper and Spokenly overlap on dictation and differ on everything else. MacWhisper is first a file transcriber with a one-time Pro license. Spokenly is first a dictation app, free with local models, with a subscription for the cloud.
I built YapToText, a free dictation app for the Mac, so read this knowing I make a rival to both. Each fact comes from the maker's own pages, on the dates under the table.
This app is completely free. You don't have to make an account. There are no subscriptions, no difficult downloads, and nothing is locked. Made for Apple silicon Macs. Source on GitHub.
Side by side
MacWhisper checked October 3 and 5, 2026, on macwhisper.com and its help pages. Spokenly checked October 5 and 6, 2026, on spokenly.app. YapToText from its own settings. Prices change, so confirm on each maker's site.
| MacWhisper | Spokenly | YapToText | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Built for | Transcribing recordings, with dictation added | Dictation with local or cloud models | Dictation, with files as plain text |
| Free | File transcription with .txt, .srt and .vtt export, and dictation in the macwhisper.com version | Unlimited local Whisper and Parakeet, no word caps, no account. Or your own API keys at no Spokenly fee | Everything |
| Paid | Pro €64 once | Pro $9.99 a month, or $99.99 a year | No paid tier |
| Where speech is processed | On the Mac with local models, or optional cloud providers | On the Mac with local models, or in the cloud | On the Mac |
| Without internet | Yes, with local models | Yes, with local models | Yes |
| Cleanup | Pro, through an AI provider you set up or a local model | AI cleanup and polish, with Pro | Built in, on the Mac |
| Platforms | Mac, Intel included, with an iOS app | Mac with macOS 13.3 or later, Windows, Linux and iPhone, with Android on a waitlist | Apple silicon Macs, macOS 14 or later |
| Open source license | Not stated | Not stated | GPL-3.0 |
Pick by what you need
- Recordings and subtitles. MacWhisper.
- Free dictation with local models. Spokenly.
- Pay once. MacWhisper Pro.
- Windows or Linux. Spokenly.
- Speakers and meetings. MacWhisper Pro.
For more on each: MacWhisper and Spokenly.
The free third option
YapToText does dictation with cleanup and dictionaries on the Mac, free, with no account, and gives plain text from audio and video files. It runs on Apple silicon Macs with macOS 14 or later and nowhere else. If you need Windows, a phone, subtitles or speaker labels, one of the two above fits better. The MacWhisper alternative page and the Spokenly one compare each with YapToText directly.
This app is completely free. You don't have to make an account. There are no subscriptions, no difficult downloads, and nothing is locked. Made for Apple silicon Macs. Source on GitHub.
The short version
- MacWhisper. Transcribing recordings, with dictation added. Pro €64 once.
- Spokenly. Dictation with local or cloud models. Pro $9.99 a month, or $99.99 a year.
- YapToText. Free dictation with cleanup on one Apple silicon Mac.
If a price or feature here has changed, open an issue on GitHub and I will update this page. Every one gets read.
This app is completely free. You don't have to make an account. There are no subscriptions, no difficult downloads, and nothing is locked. Made for Apple silicon Macs. Source on GitHub.
Related
Sources
- https://www.macwhisper.com (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://www.macwhisper.com/legal/privacy-policy (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/40-macwhisper-whisper-transcription-difference (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/14-how-to-use-the-dictation-feature (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/22-assistant (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/39-licensing (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/34-transcription-is-slower-than-expected (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/33-macwhisper-for-ios (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://apps.apple.com/us/app/whisper-transcription/id1668083311 (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://spokenly.app/pricing (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://spokenly.app/download (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://spokenly.app/open-source (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://github.com/ryleighnewman/YapToText (checked 2026-10-11)
- https://apps.apple.com/us/app/yaptotext/id6786382289 (checked 2026-10-11)
Questions
What is the difference between MacWhisper and Spokenly?
MacWhisper: transcribing recordings, with dictation added. Spokenly: dictation with local or cloud models.
Is MacWhisper or Spokenly free?
MacWhisper: File transcription with .txt, .srt and .vtt export, and dictation in the macwhisper.com version. Spokenly: Unlimited local Whisper and Parakeet, no word caps, no account. Or your own API keys at no Spokenly fee.
Do MacWhisper and Spokenly work offline?
MacWhisper: Yes, with local models. Spokenly: Yes, with local models.
Is there a free app that runs on the Mac?
YapToText is free, with cleanup built in, on Apple silicon Macs.