MacWhisper vs superwhisper: recordings or dictation, and a free app that does both
By Ryleigh Newman · Published
Pick MacWhisper if most of what you transcribe is already recorded, and superwhisper if most of it is what you are about to say. MacWhisper is a file transcriber with dictation added: its free version exports subtitles, and Pro is €64 once. superwhisper is a dictation app with file transcription on Pro: its free plan gives unlimited local Whisper dictation, and Pro is $8.49 a month, $84.99 a year or $249.99 once.
Both run Whisper on your Mac, so on paper they look alike, and people weigh them against each other for that reason. I built YapToText, a free, open-source app that dictates first and transcribes files too, so it appears here as a third option; read that part with my bias in mind. My hands make typing difficult, so I dictate every day. Every MacWhisper and superwhisper fact below comes from their own sites, help centers and App Store listing, read on October 3 and October 5, 2026. I compared what they publish and did not benchmark them against each other.
Download for free. No account, nothing locked, macOS 14 or later on Apple silicon. Source on GitHub.
On this page: 11 sections
Steps
- Install YapToText from the Mac App Store and open it.
- In the Get set up card on the Home page, press Continue next to Microphone and Grant next to Accessibility.
- Click into a text field, tap Right Command, talk, and tap it again.
- On the Utility page, in the Transcribe a file card, pick Raw Transcription in the Mode menu.
- Drop a recording on the card or press Choose File, then use Copy or Insert when the text appears.
Side by side
The two apps were built for different jobs. File transcription turns a recording you already have into text you read, search or export. Live dictation turns what you say right now into text at your cursor. MacWhisper is a file tool that also dictates, and superwhisper is a dictation tool that also does files, on Pro.
Checked October 3 and 5, 2026, on macwhisper.com, superwhisper.com and their help pages, with both apps' prices on October 5. MacWhisper lists Pro in euros and superwhisper in US dollars. Prices change, so confirm on each vendor's pricing page before you buy.
| MacWhisper | superwhisper | YapToText | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Built for | Transcribing recordings, with dictation added | Dictation, with files on Pro | Dictation, with files as plain text |
| Free | File transcription with .txt, .srt and .vtt export, and system-wide dictation in the macwhisper.com version | Unlimited local Whisper dictation, custom vocabulary, text replacements, up to two modes without AI processing | Everything, no paid tier |
| Paid | Pro €64 once, with lifetime updates | Pro $8.49 a month, $84.99 a year, or $249.99 once | None; tips are optional |
| File transcription | Free | Pro | Free, plain text |
| Subtitles | .srt and .vtt, free | No, per superwhisper's own MacWhisper comparison | No |
| Who said what | Speaker recognition, Pro | Speaker separation, Pro | No |
| Dictation into any app | Free in the macwhisper.com version; high quality dictation on Pro | Free, with no word cap | Free, with no word cap |
| Cleanup of dictation | Pro, through an AI provider you connect | AI modes, Pro | Free, on the Mac |
| Edits selected text by voice | Not stated | Super Mode, Pro; it formats a selection rather than rewriting it | Quick Edit, free |
| Where the audio goes | On the Mac, per its privacy policy; its help center also points to optional cloud transcription providers | On the device with local models; cloud models on Pro | Stays on the Mac |
| Devices | Mac; iPhone and iPad through the App Store edition | Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android | Mac only |
| Intel Macs | Yes, more slowly, per its help center | Cloud models suggested | No |
| Languages | 100 | More than 100 | 29, plus auto-detect |
| Open source | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, GPL-3.0 |
The full comparison of Mac dictation apps adds Wispr Flow, VoiceInk and Apple Dictation to the same rows.
What each one costs
Both have a free version you can keep using, and they sell the rest differently. MacWhisper sells one license, once; superwhisper sells one Pro, by the month, the year or once.
MacWhisper
- Free. File transcription on the Mac with local models, text and subtitle export, 100 languages, and system-wide dictation with Whisper.
- Pro. €64, paid once, with lifetime updates. Its help center describes the direct download as a one-time payment with no subscription, and says a personal Pro license is meant for your own devices, with a soft limit of 3.
- The App Store edition. Called Whisper Transcription, it is sold with in-app purchases, and the help center lists weekly, monthly and yearly options there, plus an optional Assistant subscription for cloud transcription and AI summaries. It cannot dictate into other apps.
- A cost to add. Pro's cleanup runs through an AI provider you set up: your own API key, or a local model in Ollama or LM Studio. A paid API has its own bill.
superwhisper
- Free. Unlimited dictation with local Whisper models, custom vocabulary, text replacements and up to two modes without AI processing. It does not expire.
- Pro. $8.49 a month, $84.99 a year, or $249.99 once, for AI modes, Super Mode, file transcription, cloud models, the Parakeet and Cohere Transcribe local models and speaker separation.
- Every device. superwhisper says one Pro license covers unlimited Macs and Windows PCs plus your iPhone and Android phone.
- Trying it. New users get 3,000 words of Pro first, and superwhisper offers a refund within 30 days of purchase.
Because one price is in euros and the other in dollars, compare them in your own currency at checkout. The MacWhisper pricing page and the superwhisper pricing page break down every edition.
Transcribing recordings
If your work is interviews, lectures, podcasts or video, this is the section that matters. For recordings, MacWhisper gives away what superwhisper charges for, and sells more on top.
MacWhisper
- Free. MP3, WAV, M4A, OGG, OPUS, MOV and MP4, transcribed on the Mac with local models, and exported as .txt, or as .srt and .vtt subtitles with timings.
- Pro. Speaker recognition, batch transcription, YouTube and other media links, podcasts, and capture of audio from other apps.
- Meetings, on Pro. Recording of Zoom, Teams, Webex, Skype, Chime and Discord calls, noticing when they start and end.
- Exports and automation, on Pro. Formats such as .docx, .pdf and Markdown, watch folders, sending transcripts to Notion, Zapier, Obsidian and others, and a command-line tool.
superwhisper
- Pro only. File transcription is not on the free plan. superwhisper lists meeting recordings, lectures, interviews and voice memos.
- Through a mode. A file goes through your active mode, so the result uses that mode's voice model and AI formatting.
- Speakers and meetings. Speaker separation is on Pro, and its meeting page says it records Zoom, Teams, Discord and Slack calls without a bot; its docs put system audio recording on Pro.
The roundup of transcription apps for Mac ranks both for recordings, and the guide to transcribing an interview shows when speaker labels and timestamps matter and when plain text is enough.
Dictating into other apps
Here the roles flip. superwhisper builds its whole app around dictation; MacWhisper offers it as one feature, and only outside the App Store.
MacWhisper
- Where it lives. Only in the version sold on macwhisper.com. The help center says the App Store edition cannot dictate into other apps because of restrictions Apple puts on Mac App Store apps.
- How it works. You set a keyboard shortcut in its settings, and it types into any text field.
- On Pro. High quality dictation, automatic spelling and grammar improvement, AI prompts and app-specific prompts, all through the AI provider you connect.
- Editing by voice. MacWhisper does not list a way to change selected text by voice.
superwhisper
- Models. Local Whisper models on the free plan, which its plans page names as Fast, Nano and Standard. Parakeet, Cohere Transcribe and cloud models from superwhisper, Deepgram and ElevenLabs are Pro.
- Modes. Free allows up to two modes without AI processing. Super, Mail and the other AI modes are Pro, and on Pro a mode can read the active app, the text you copied and the text you selected.
- Switching. A mode can switch on by app or website, a Change Mode shortcut, the menu bar or a deep link.
- Super Mode. Its guide says it handles formatting a selection, such as title case or bullet points, and does not work well for rewriting one.
- Your words. Custom vocabulary and text replacements, on every plan.
If you dictate all day, superwhisper gives you more to work with, and its free plan has no word cap. If you dictate now and then between recordings, MacWhisper's free dictation may be all you need.
Where your audio goes
Both can keep transcription entirely on the Mac, and both let you reach for a server when you choose to. With either app, you can keep the audio on the Mac; the cloud is something you choose.
- MacWhisper. Its privacy policy says everything runs on your device and that no audio, text or other data leaves it, apart from anonymous analytics about license status. Its help center also points slow Intel Macs to optional cloud transcription providers, and Pro's AI features use the provider you connect, so read that provider's terms if it is a cloud API.
- superwhisper. It says nothing you dictate on the free plan leaves your device, and its privacy policy, last updated June 19, 2024, says audio is transcribed on your device. Its cloud models, all on Pro, are hosted by superwhisper, Deepgram and ElevenLabs.
- Intel Macs. MacWhisper runs on them more slowly, by its own account. superwhisper's FAQ points Intel Macs to its cloud models, because its offline models only run really well on Apple silicon. The Intel Mac dictation guide covers both.
Which one should you pick
Answer one question first: is the audio already recorded, or are you about to say it? Recordings point to MacWhisper, talking points to superwhisper, and nothing stops you from running both.
- If you need subtitles, pick MacWhisper. Its free version exports .srt and .vtt.
- If you need to know who said what, both have it on Pro: speaker recognition in MacWhisper, speaker separation in superwhisper. MacWhisper also does batches and links, and both record meetings on Pro.
- If you dictate into other apps all day, pick superwhisper. Its free plan is unlimited local dictation, and Pro adds AI modes and Super Mode.
- If you want to pay once, both allow it: MacWhisper Pro at €64, or superwhisper's $249.99 lifetime license.
- If you also use Windows or an Android phone, pick superwhisper. MacWhisper's other edition runs on iPhone and iPad.
- If you bought from the App Store and want dictation, know that Whisper Transcription cannot dictate into other apps; the macwhisper.com version can.
- If you want AI cleanup without an API key or a subscription, neither free version does it, and that is the gap YapToText fills.
Running both is fine, as long as they do not listen for the same shortcut. The MacWhisper alternative page and the superwhisper alternative page each go deeper on one of them.
Where YapToText fits as a free third option
YapToText is the app I built and use all day. It is free with no paid tier, no account and no analytics, its code is public under the GPL-3.0, and both of its models run on the Mac. It does both jobs at no price: dictation with cleanup in any app, and plain text from a file.
- Dictation. Tap Right Command, talk, tap again, and Auto mode picks a format for each dictation. The Auto mode guide explains how it decides.
- Editing by voice. Select text in any app, tap Right Option and say the change. The Quick Edit guide has examples.
- Files. Any audio or video file macOS can decode, Voice Memos included, with no minute cap. A recording over 4 minutes is cut at quiet moments into pieces of about 2 minutes.

Step 1: Install it and allow two permissions
- You: Get YapToText from the Mac App Store and open it. In the Get set up card on the Home page, press Continue next to Microphone, then Grant next to Accessibility.
- macOS: Asks about the microphone, then opens System Settings, Privacy & Security, Accessibility, where you switch YapToText on.
- Check: The Get set up card leaves the Home page once nothing is missing.
Step 2: Dictate one paragraph
- You: Click into a text field, tap Right Command, talk, and tap it again. If MacWhisper or superwhisper uses that key, quit it or change its shortcut first.
- YapToText: Transcribes on your Mac and types at your cursor.
- Check: The words are in the field. If they went to the clipboard, Accessibility is not on yet.
Step 3: Transcribe one file
- You: On the Utility page, in the Transcribe a file card, pick Raw Transcription in the Mode menu, then drop a recording on the card or press Choose File.
- YapToText: Reads the file by its content, not its extension, and transcribes it on the Mac.
- Check: The text appears in the card, with Copy, Insert and Send below. A file with no speech in it says so instead.
The guide to transcribing an audio file for free lists the formats, and the Utility guide covers the rest of that page.
What each one cannot do
Each of the three leaves something out, and the gaps line up with what the others do well. MacWhisper Free leaves out AI cleanup, superwhisper Free leaves out files, and YapToText leaves out timestamps and every computer but an Apple silicon Mac.
MacWhisper
- No dictation in the App Store edition. Only the macwhisper.com version dictates into other apps.
- No built-in AI model for cleanup. Pro's cleanup needs a provider you connect: an API key, or Ollama or LM Studio.
- No Windows or Android. Mac, plus iPhone and iPad through Whisper Transcription.
superwhisper
- No files on the free plan. File transcription is Pro.
- No AI on the free plan. Two modes without AI processing; AI modes and Super Mode are Pro.
- No real rewriting of a selection. Its own guide says Super Mode does not work well for rewriting.
YapToText
- No timestamps, subtitles or speakers. A file transcript is plain text.
- One file at a time. No batches, links, meeting recording or watch folders.
- One kind of computer. An Apple silicon Mac with macOS 14 or later; nothing for Intel Macs, Windows or phones.
- Fewer languages. 29 plus auto-detect, against 100 or more in the other two.

The short version
- MacWhisper. Recordings first: free transcription with subtitles, Pro at €64 once for speakers, batches, links and meetings, and dictation only in the macwhisper.com version.
- superwhisper. Dictation first: free unlimited local Whisper dictation, Pro at $8.49 a month, $84.99 a year or $249.99 once for AI modes and files.
- Prices. One is in euros and one in dollars, and both change; confirm on each pricing page.
- YapToText. Free dictation with cleanup and plain text from files, on one Apple silicon Mac.
Recorded audio points to MacWhisper, live talking points to superwhisper, and if plain text is enough for both, there is a free third option.
If a price or feature here no longer matches MacWhisper's or superwhisper's own pages, or what YapToText does on your Mac, open an issue on GitHub and I will fix it. Every one gets read.
Download for free. No account, nothing locked, macOS 14 or later on Apple silicon. Source on GitHub.
Related
Sources
- https://www.macwhisper.com (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.macwhisper.com/legal/privacy-policy (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/14-how-to-use-the-dictation-feature (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/40-macwhisper-whisper-transcription-difference (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/34-transcription-is-slower-than-expected (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/22-assistant (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/39-licensing (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://docs.macwhisper.com/article/33-macwhisper-for-ios (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://apps.apple.com/us/app/whisper-transcription/id1668083311 (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/billing/plans (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/get-started/transcribe-files (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/models/voice (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/modes/built-in (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/modes/modes (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/modes/switching-modes (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com/privacy (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com/download (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://github.com/ryleighnewman/YapToText (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://apps.apple.com/us/app/yaptotext/id6786382289 (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com/vs/macwhisper (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://superwhisper.com/meeting-transcription (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/modes/speaker-separated-meetings (checked 2026-10-06)
Questions
MacWhisper vs superwhisper: which is better?
MacWhisper, if you mostly transcribe recordings: its free version exports subtitles, and Pro adds speaker recognition, batches and meeting recording. superwhisper, if you mostly dictate: its free plan gives unlimited local Whisper dictation, and Pro adds AI modes and file transcription.
Can MacWhisper dictate like superwhisper?
Yes, in the version sold on macwhisper.com, which has system-wide dictation from a keyboard shortcut on its free tier. The App Store edition, Whisper Transcription, cannot dictate into other apps, and AI cleanup of dictation needs Pro and a provider you connect.
Can superwhisper transcribe audio files?
Yes, on Pro. A file goes through your active mode, so it uses that mode's voice model and AI formatting, and Pro also lists speaker separation. File transcription is not on the free plan.
Which is cheaper, MacWhisper or superwhisper?
Both have free versions. MacWhisper Pro is €64 once with lifetime updates, and superwhisper Pro is $8.49 a month, $84.99 a year or $249.99 once, checked October 5, 2026. Compare in your own currency, since one is listed in euros and one in dollars.
Do MacWhisper and superwhisper work offline?
Yes, with their local models. MacWhisper's privacy policy says everything runs on your device, and superwhisper says nothing you dictate on its free plan leaves your device. Both offer cloud options you can choose.
Is there a free alternative to MacWhisper and superwhisper?
Yes. YapToText is free and open source, dictates into any app with on-device cleanup, and transcribes audio and video files as plain text. It makes no subtitles or speaker labels and needs an Apple silicon Mac with macOS 14 or later.