An OpenWhispr alternative for the Mac, open source with nothing to set up
By Ryleigh Newman ยท Published
YapToText is an OpenWhispr alternative for the Mac that does one job, dictation with cleanup and editing by voice, entirely on the Mac: no cloud tier, no account, and both models inside the App Store download. OpenWhispr is free and open source too, under the MIT license, and it does much more than I do: it runs on Windows, Linux and Intel Macs, transcribes meetings, keeps notes, has a voice agent, and offers its own cloud and five families of local models. I built YapToText, so read this with that in mind. Every OpenWhispr fact here comes from openwhispr.com, its docs and its GitHub repository, read on October 3 and October 5, 2026.
My hands make typing difficult, so I dictate every day, and I wanted the app I depend on to keep everything on the Mac. If you came for OpenWhispr vs Handy, the three-way comparison with Handy is further down.
Download for free. No account, nothing locked, macOS 14 or later on Apple silicon. Source on GitHub.
On this page: 10 sections
Steps
- Install YapToText from the Mac App Store and open it.
- Press Continue next to Microphone and Accessibility, and switch YapToText on in System Settings, Privacy & Security, Accessibility.
- Quit OpenWhispr, keep Right Command or record Fn (Globe) as the key, and dictate one sentence into a text field.
- Add your OpenWhispr dictionary words on the Dictionaries page, or select a word and say add this to my dictionary.
What OpenWhispr is, from its own pages
OpenWhispr calls itself the open-source and free alternative to Wispr Flow and Granola: privacy-first voice to text with AI agents, meeting transcription and notes. It is MIT licensed, and the code is on GitHub.
- Dictation. On a Mac, OpenWhispr is a menu bar app. The default hotkey is the Globe key: press it, speak, press it again, and the text appears at your cursor. Setup asks whether to use its cloud, your own API key or a local model.
- Local models. Orukeet, Whisper, Parakeet, Nemotron and Cohere Transcribe. Its site says local dictation is unlimited and free forever, and that when you dictate locally nothing is sent to OpenWhispr or anyone else.
- Cleanup and words. A built-in AI writing assistant punctuates, reformats and rewrites what you said, with local models or the cloud. A custom dictionary for names, terms and acronyms is included on every plan.
- The voice agent. A separate hotkey, empty until you set one. Select text, press it and say the change, such as make this more formal, and the agent rewrites the selection in place; with nothing selected, the result goes in at your cursor.
- Meetings and notes. It records and transcribes meetings and keeps notes. The free plan includes 5 hours of meeting recordings a month.
- Every desktop. A .dmg for Apple silicon and Intel Macs on macOS 12 or later, signed and notarized by Gizmo Labs Inc., plus Windows and Linux.
The plans, as OpenWhispr lists them:
- Free. Unlimited local dictation, 2,000 words of its cloud transcription per rolling 7 days, and 5 hours of meetings a month.
- Pro, $8 a month or $80 a year. Unlimited cloud transcription, 20 hours of meetings a month, sync, the iPhone and iPad app, and API and MCP access.
- Business, $16 a user a month or $160 a year. Unlimited meeting recordings, chat over your data and priority support.
OpenWhispr grows from dictation into meetings, notes and an agent; YapToText stays a dictation tool and does that one job entirely on the Mac.
What you keep, and what changes
Both are free and open source for local dictation, so the switch is about scope and setup.
- Dictating into any app. OpenWhispr presses Globe to start and again to stop. YapToText taps Right Command the same way, and if your hands know Globe, record Fn (Globe) as the key in the Keys card on the Dictation page and keep Tap to start / stop. Intelligent Insert reads a few words around your cursor first, so words dropped mid-sentence get the right capital, spacing and final mark.
- Where your voice goes. OpenWhispr gives you the choice at setup, and its local models keep your voice on the computer. YapToText has no cloud option to choose: both models run on the Mac, there is no account, and the only network use is a model download you start yourself. The private dictation guide covers how to check that.
- Cleanup. OpenWhispr's writing assistant can run locally or in the cloud. YapToText ships its cleanup model, Phi-3.5 Mini Instruct, inside the App Store download, and Auto mode is on by default: a letter becomes an email, short casual chat stays as spoken, and everything else gets a careful pass that fixes what was misheard and rewrites nothing. The Auto mode guide explains how it decides, and the modes guide covers writing your own.

- Editing a selection. OpenWhispr's voice agent rewrites a selection once you give it a hotkey. YapToText's Quick Edit is on Right Option out of the box: select, tap, say the change, tap again, on the bundled model. The Quick Edit guide lists what you can say.
- Your words. Both have a dictionary. YapToText's Dictionaries also hand your words to Whisper before it decodes, offer fixes it sees you make again and again, and can generate likely mishearings of a name for you.
- Meetings and notes. YapToText has no meeting recorder or notes workspace. It can transcribe an audio or video file you already have into plain text, without speaker labels; the guide to transcribing audio on a Mac shows how.
- Price. Local dictation is free in both. OpenWhispr charges for its cloud, sync and phone app; YapToText has no paid tier, and the tips buy no features.
You give up meetings, notes, an agent, a cloud and every other platform, and you get one app with nothing to choose and nothing that can leave the Mac.
Side by side
Checked October 5, 2026, on openwhispr.com and its docs, and October 3, 2026, on its GitHub repository. Prices change, so check before you switch.
| YapToText | OpenWhispr | |
|---|---|---|
| Price | Free, no paid tier | Free local dictation; Pro $8 a month or $80 a year; Business $16 a user a month |
| License | GPL-3.0 | MIT |
| Get it from | Mac App Store, or Homebrew without the models | A .dmg from its site or GitHub releases |
| Where speech is processed | On the Mac, always | On your computer with a local model, or its cloud or your own key if you choose |
| Models in the download | Both inside the App Store build | Chosen at setup |
| AI cleanup | Built in, on the Mac, on by default through Auto mode | Its writing assistant, with local models or the cloud |
| Edits selected text by voice | Yes, Quick Edit on Right Option | Yes, the voice agent, once you set its hotkey |
| Default key on a Mac | Right Command, tap to start and stop | Globe, pressed to start and again to stop |
| Meetings and notes | No | Yes; 5 hours of meetings a month free, 20 on Pro |
| Account | None | Not stated on the pages I read; paid plans add sync |
| Platforms | Mac only | Mac, Windows and Linux; iPhone and iPad on Pro |
| Mac requirement | macOS 14 or later, Apple silicon | macOS 12 or later, Apple silicon or Intel |
| Languages | 29 plus auto-detect | More than 100 |
OpenWhispr gives you every option; YapToText removes the options so nothing has to be set up.
OpenWhispr vs Handy, and where YapToText sits
OpenWhispr vs Handy comes down to one job or many. Both are MIT licensed, both are free for local dictation, and both run on macOS, Windows and Linux. Handy is dictation and nothing else, with no cloud for transcription; OpenWhispr adds meetings, notes, an agent and an optional cloud.
Checked October 5, 2026, on openwhispr.com and handy.computer, and October 3, 2026, on both GitHub repositories.
| YapToText | Handy | OpenWhispr | |
|---|---|---|---|
| What it does | Dictation, cleanup and editing by voice | Dictation and nothing else | Dictation, meetings, notes and a voice agent |
| Price | Free | Free; donations welcome | Free local dictation; Pro $8 a month or $80 a year |
| License | GPL-3.0 | MIT | MIT |
| Cloud | None | None for transcription | Its own cloud, 2,000 words a week free, or your own key |
| Cleanup | Built in, on by default | Experimental post-processing with a provider you set | A writing assistant, local or cloud |
| Edits a selection by voice | Yes, Quick Edit | Not stated | Yes, with the voice agent hotkey |
| Starting on a Mac | Right Command, tapped | Option Space, held | Globe, pressed to start and stop |
| Platforms | Apple silicon Macs | Mac, Windows and Linux | Mac, Windows and Linux |

Pick Handy for the smallest tool with no cloud for transcription, and OpenWhispr if you also want meeting transcripts, notes or a cloud model. Where YapToText sits: Mac only, like neither of them, with cleanup and editing by voice ready on the first launch and no cloud at all. The roundup of open-source dictation apps adds FluidVoice and VoiceInk, and the offline dictation guide shows how to test any of them with Wi-Fi off.
Handy is a tool, OpenWhispr is a workspace, and YapToText is a Mac dictation app that does the writing help itself.
Move over in about ten minutes
Four steps and no account. Quit OpenWhispr, grant two permissions, and there is nothing left to choose.
Step 1: Install YapToText
- You: Get YapToText from the Mac App Store and open it.
- YapToText: Opens a short welcome tour. Both models are inside, so there is no cloud, key or model to pick.
- Check: The tour's second page is titled A couple of permissions.
Step 2: Allow the microphone and Accessibility
- You: Press Continue next to Microphone, then next to Accessibility.
- macOS: Asks once for the microphone, then opens System Settings, Privacy & Security, Accessibility, where you switch YapToText on yourself. An app cannot do that part for you.
- Check: Both cards read Granted. If Accessibility will not stay on, press Show in Finder in the Get set up card on the Home page, drag the app into the list, and press Recheck.
Step 3: Quit OpenWhispr, pick your key and dictate once
- You: Quit OpenWhispr, so two apps are not listening at once; that matters most if you give YapToText the Globe key too. Keep Right Command, or record Fn (Globe) in the Keys card on the Dictation page. Then click into a text field and dictate a sentence.
- YapToText: Shows your voice as a wave and your words as they form, then types the finished text at your cursor.
- Check: The words land where your cursor was. If the wave stays flat, the app is not hearing your microphone yet.

The keys and shortcuts guide lists every key that can start a dictation.
Step 4: Bring your dictionary over
Say: Select a word anywhere on screen, tap Right Option, say this, and tap Right Option again.
add this to my dictionaryWhat happens: The Quick Edit card says the word was added, and from then on YapToText spells it the way you selected it.
- You: Add the rest of your OpenWhispr dictionary on the Dictionaries page, each as what it gets heard as and the spelling you want. For a name that keeps coming out wrong, press Generate variations on it.
- YapToText: Uses your words to prime the speech model, so it hears them as well as types them.
- Check: Dictate a sentence with one of them. It comes out spelled your way.
The Dictionaries guide covers folders, case and whole-word matching.
Where OpenWhispr is ahead
- Every desktop, and Intel. Windows, Linux and Intel Macs on macOS 12 or later, and an iPhone and iPad app on Pro. YapToText runs only on Apple silicon Macs with macOS 14 or later.
- Meetings and notes. Recording, transcripts and notes in the same app. YapToText records no meetings.
- An agent. AI agents with their own hotkeys, which its site says can automate actions on your transcripts as well as rewrite text. YapToText's Quick Edit rewrites text, and it has no agent.
- Model choice and a cloud. Five local model families plus its own cloud or your own key. YapToText runs Whisper only and has no cloud, by design.
- More languages. More than 100, against YapToText's 29 plus auto-detect.
- Sync. Pro syncs between devices. YapToText syncs nothing, though Export Preset moves your modes, dictionaries and settings to another Mac.
If you need any of those, OpenWhispr is the better choice, and it is open source like mine, so you can read every line of either one. If your dictation has to follow you to Windows, Linux or a phone, OpenWhispr goes where YapToText cannot.
What each one cannot do
- YapToText. No Windows, Linux, iPhone or Intel version, no meeting recorder, notes workspace, agent or sync, and no cloud model for a Mac that struggles with local ones. The App Store download is about 2.9 GB. Its accessibility work, from tapping instead of holding to VoiceOver announcements, describes the code; the full VoiceOver and Voice Control test pass has not been run yet, as the accessibility page says.
- OpenWhispr. Its own cloud is capped at 2,000 words a week on the free plan, and sync and the phone app need Pro. The voice agent hotkey is empty until you set one, and you choose a cloud, a key or a model before your first dictation.
OpenWhispr is the bigger toolbox; YapToText is the smaller one with nothing to set up.
The short version
- Who should switch. Anyone on an Apple silicon Mac who wants dictation, cleanup and editing by voice with no cloud, no account and no setup.
- Who should stay. Anyone who needs Windows, Linux, an Intel Mac, meeting transcripts, notes, an agent or sync.
- What it costs. Local dictation is free in both. OpenWhispr Pro is $8 a month or $80 a year, checked October 5, 2026; YapToText has no paid tier.
- OpenWhispr vs Handy. OpenWhispr for meetings, notes and a cloud option; Handy for dictation and nothing else.
Three free, open-source apps, each a different size; pick the one whose extras you will actually use. If something here no longer matches OpenWhispr's pages, tell me on GitHub. Every issue gets read.
Download for free. No account, nothing locked, macOS 14 or later on Apple silicon. Source on GitHub.
Related
Sources
- https://github.com/OpenWhispr/openwhispr (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://openwhispr.com (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://openwhispr.com/pricing (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://docs.openwhispr.com/faq (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://docs.openwhispr.com/quickstart (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.openwhispr.com/platform/macos (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://docs.openwhispr.com/help/agent/voice-agent (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://github.com/cjpais/Handy (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://handy.computer/docs/general (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://handy.computer/docs/post-processing (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://apps.apple.com/us/app/yaptotext/id6786382289 (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://github.com/ryleighnewman/YapToText (checked 2026-10-03)
Questions
Is there an alternative to OpenWhispr for Mac?
Yes. YapToText is free and open source under GPL-3.0, runs both of its models on the Mac with no cloud option and no account, and edits a selection by voice out of the box. It runs only on Apple silicon Macs, where OpenWhispr also runs on Windows, Linux and Intel Macs.
Is OpenWhispr free?
Yes, for local dictation. OpenWhispr says unlimited local dictation is free forever, and its own cloud is free for 2,000 words a week. Pro is $8 a month or $80 a year, and Business is $16 a user a month, checked October 5, 2026.
Is OpenWhispr open source?
Yes. Its README says it is MIT licensed, free for personal and commercial use, with the code on GitHub. YapToText is open source too, under GPL-3.0.
OpenWhispr vs Handy: which should I use?
Handy if you want dictation and nothing else, with no cloud for transcription. OpenWhispr if you also want meeting transcripts, notes, a voice agent or a cloud option. Both are MIT licensed, free for local dictation and run on macOS, Windows and Linux.
Does OpenWhispr work on a Mac?
Yes. OpenWhispr's docs list a .dmg for Apple silicon and Intel Macs on macOS 12 or later, signed and notarized by Gizmo Labs Inc. Its default hotkey on a Mac is the Globe key.
Does OpenWhispr work offline?
Yes, with a local model. Its site says local dictation is transcribed on your own computer and nothing is sent anywhere. Its own cloud and your own API keys are options you choose at setup.