superwhisper vs Wispr Flow vs VoiceInk: three apps compared on their own makers' numbers
By Ryleigh Newman · Published
superwhisper, Wispr Flow and VoiceInk are the three dictation apps Mac users compare most. Wispr Flow is cloud only, with a subscription. superwhisper runs local or cloud models and sells a subscription or a lifetime license. VoiceInk is open source, sold once, and can run entirely on the Mac.
I built YapToText, a free dictation app for the Mac, so read this knowing I make a rival to all three. Each fact comes from the maker's own pages, on the dates under the table.
This app is completely free. You don't have to make an account. There are no subscriptions, no difficult downloads, and nothing is locked. Made for Apple silicon Macs. Source on GitHub.
All three in one table
superwhisper checked October 5, 2026, on superwhisper.com. Wispr Flow checked October 3 to 11, 2026, on wisprflow.ai and its help center. VoiceInk checked October 5 and 10, 2026, on tryvoiceink.com and its docs. Prices change, so confirm on each maker's site.
| superwhisper | Wispr Flow | VoiceInk | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Built for | Dictation with AI modes | Cloud dictation with AI rewriting | Dictation, organized into Modes |
| Free | Unlimited local Whisper dictation, vocabulary, replacements, two modes without AI | 2,000 words a week on a Mac or PC before a warning, 5,000 before dictation stops | A 7-day trial, or build the GPL v3 source yourself |
| Paid | Pro $8.49 a month, $84.99 a year, or $249.99 once | Pro $15 per user a month, or $12 billed yearly | Once: $25 for one Mac, $39 for two, $49 for three, $159 for ten |
| Where speech is processed | On the Mac with local models, or cloud models with Pro | Wispr's cloud, always | A local model on the Mac, or a cloud provider you connect |
| Without internet | Yes, with local models | No | Yes, with a local model |
| Cleanup | AI modes and Super Mode, with Pro | Built in, in the cloud | AI enhancement with your provider, or VoiceInk Refine on the Mac with 16 GB |
| Platforms | Mac, Windows, iPhone and Android | Mac, Windows, iPhone and Android. Not iPad or Linux | Apple silicon Macs, macOS 15 or later. A separately licensed iPhone and iPad app |
| Open source license | Not stated | Not stated | GPL v3 |
Pick by what you need
- Nothing leaves the Mac. VoiceInk or superwhisper, with a local model.
- Pay once, for the least. VoiceInk, from $25.
- Rewriting with no setup. Wispr Flow.
- Windows and a phone. Wispr Flow or superwhisper.
- Open source. VoiceInk, under GPL v3.
The pairs go deeper: superwhisper vs Wispr Flow, VoiceInk vs superwhisper, VoiceInk vs Wispr Flow.
The fourth option
YapToText is free, with no paid tier and no account. It dictates into any app with cleanup built in, on the Mac, and turns an audio or video file into plain text. It runs on Apple silicon Macs with macOS 14 or later and nowhere else, and it is open source under GPL-3.0. If you need Windows, a phone, or a team plan, one of the three above fits better. The superwhisper alternative page, the Wispr Flow one and the VoiceInk one compare each with YapToText directly.
This app is completely free. You don't have to make an account. There are no subscriptions, no difficult downloads, and nothing is locked. Made for Apple silicon Macs. Source on GitHub.
The short version
- superwhisper. Dictation with AI modes. Pro $8.49 a month, $84.99 a year, or $249.99 once.
- Wispr Flow. Cloud dictation with AI rewriting. Pro $15 per user a month, or $12 billed yearly.
- VoiceInk. Dictation, organized into Modes. Once: $25 for one Mac, $39 for two, $49 for three, $159 for ten.
- YapToText. Free dictation with cleanup on one Apple silicon Mac.
If a price or feature here has changed, open an issue on GitHub and I will update this page. Every one gets read.
This app is completely free. You don't have to make an account. There are no subscriptions, no difficult downloads, and nothing is locked. Made for Apple silicon Macs. Source on GitHub.
Related
Sources
- https://superwhisper.com (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/billing/plans (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/get-started/transcribe-files (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/models/voice (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/models/language (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/modes/built-in (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/modes/modes (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com/privacy (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com/download (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/common-issues/app-wont-launch (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://wisprflow.ai/pricing (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://wisprflow.ai/privacy (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://wisprflow.ai/data-controls (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://wisprflow.ai/students (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://github.com/ryleighnewman/YapToText (checked 2026-10-11)
- https://apps.apple.com/us/app/yaptotext/id6786382289 (checked 2026-10-11)
Questions
Which is better, superwhisper, Wispr Flow or VoiceInk?
It depends on the job. superwhisper: dictation with ai modes. Wispr Flow: cloud dictation with ai rewriting. VoiceInk: dictation, organized into modes.
Which of superwhisper, Wispr Flow and VoiceInk works offline?
superwhisper: Yes, with local models. Wispr Flow: No. VoiceInk: Yes, with a local model.
Which has a free plan, superwhisper, Wispr Flow or VoiceInk?
superwhisper: Unlimited local Whisper dictation, vocabulary, replacements, two modes without AI. Wispr Flow: 2,000 words a week on a Mac or PC before a warning, 5,000 before dictation stops. VoiceInk: A 7-day trial, or build the GPL v3 source yourself.
Is there a free app that runs on the Mac?
YapToText is free, with cleanup built in, on Apple silicon Macs.