Wispr Flow vs Spokenly: the two compared on their own makers' numbers
By Ryleigh Newman · Published
Wispr Flow and Spokenly are close to opposites. Wispr Flow sends every dictation to its cloud and rewrites it for you. Spokenly's free tier transcribes on your own computer with local models, and its subscription adds cloud models and cleanup.
I built YapToText, a free dictation app for the Mac, so read this knowing I make a rival to both. Each fact comes from the maker's own pages, on the dates under the table.
This app is completely free. You don't have to make an account. There are no subscriptions, no difficult downloads, and nothing is locked. Made for Apple silicon Macs. Source on GitHub.
Side by side
Wispr Flow checked October 3 to 11, 2026, on wisprflow.ai and its help center. Spokenly checked October 5 and 6, 2026, on spokenly.app. YapToText from its own settings. Prices change, so confirm on each maker's site.
| Wispr Flow | Spokenly | YapToText | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Built for | Cloud dictation with AI rewriting | Dictation with local or cloud models | Dictation, with files as plain text |
| Free | 2,000 words a week on a Mac or PC before a warning, 5,000 before dictation stops | Unlimited local Whisper and Parakeet, no word caps, no account. Or your own API keys at no Spokenly fee | Everything |
| Paid | Pro $15 per user a month, or $12 billed yearly | Pro $9.99 a month, or $99.99 a year | No paid tier |
| Where speech is processed | Wispr's cloud, always | On the Mac with local models, or in the cloud | On the Mac |
| Without internet | No | Yes, with local models | Yes |
| Cleanup | Built in, in the cloud | AI cleanup and polish, with Pro | Built in, on the Mac |
| Platforms | Mac, Windows, iPhone and Android. Not iPad or Linux | Mac with macOS 13.3 or later, Windows, Linux and iPhone, with Android on a waitlist | Apple silicon Macs, macOS 14 or later |
| Open source license | Not stated | Not stated | GPL-3.0 |
Pick by what you need
- Nothing leaves your computer. Spokenly, with local models.
- Rewriting with no setup. Wispr Flow.
- No account. Spokenly's free tier.
- Android. Wispr Flow.
- Linux. Spokenly.
For more on each: Wispr Flow and Spokenly.
The free third option
YapToText does dictation with cleanup and dictionaries on the Mac, free, with no account, and gives plain text from audio and video files. It runs on Apple silicon Macs with macOS 14 or later and nowhere else. If you need Windows, a phone, subtitles or speaker labels, one of the two above fits better. The Wispr Flow alternative page and the Spokenly one compare each with YapToText directly.
This app is completely free. You don't have to make an account. There are no subscriptions, no difficult downloads, and nothing is locked. Made for Apple silicon Macs. Source on GitHub.
The short version
- Wispr Flow. Cloud dictation with AI rewriting. Pro $15 per user a month, or $12 billed yearly.
- Spokenly. Dictation with local or cloud models. Pro $9.99 a month, or $99.99 a year.
- YapToText. Free dictation with cleanup on one Apple silicon Mac.
If a price or feature here has changed, open an issue on GitHub and I will update this page. Every one gets read.
This app is completely free. You don't have to make an account. There are no subscriptions, no difficult downloads, and nothing is locked. Made for Apple silicon Macs. Source on GitHub.
Related
Sources
- https://wisprflow.ai/pricing (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://wisprflow.ai/privacy (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://wisprflow.ai/data-controls (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://wisprflow.ai/students (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.wisprflow.ai/articles/9559327591-flow-plans-and-what-s-included (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.wisprflow.ai/articles/3715544288-weekly-word-limit-not-resetting-troubleshooting-guide (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.wisprflow.ai/articles/2772472373-what-is-flow (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.wisprflow.ai/articles/4816967992-how-to-use-command-mode (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.wisprflow.ai/articles/9609615338-private-cloud-sync-and-data-sharing-preferences-in-wispr-flow (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.wisprflow.ai/articles/4841123325-longer-dictation-sessions-now-up-to-20-minutes (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.wisprflow.ai/articles/1036674442-supported-devices-and-system-requirements (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.wisprflow.ai/articles/3152211871-setup-guide (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://github.com/ryleighnewman/YapToText (checked 2026-10-11)
- https://apps.apple.com/us/app/yaptotext/id6786382289 (checked 2026-10-11)
Questions
What is the difference between Wispr Flow and Spokenly?
Wispr Flow: cloud dictation with ai rewriting. Spokenly: dictation with local or cloud models.
Is Wispr Flow or Spokenly free?
Wispr Flow: 2,000 words a week on a Mac or PC before a warning, 5,000 before dictation stops. Spokenly: Unlimited local Whisper and Parakeet, no word caps, no account. Or your own API keys at no Spokenly fee.
Do Wispr Flow and Spokenly work offline?
Wispr Flow: No. Spokenly: Yes, with local models.
Is there a free app that runs on the Mac?
YapToText is free, with cleanup built in, on Apple silicon Macs.