Typeless vs Spokenly: the two compared on their own makers' numbers
By Ryleigh Newman · Published
Typeless and Spokenly sit at opposite ends. Typeless is cloud dictation that rewrites what you say, with a weekly free allowance. Spokenly's free tier is unlimited dictation with local models on your own computer, and its subscription adds cloud models and cleanup.
I built YapToText, a free dictation app for the Mac, so read this knowing I make a rival to both. Each fact comes from the maker's own pages, on the dates under the table.
This app is completely free. You don't have to make an account. There are no subscriptions, no difficult downloads, and nothing is locked. Made for Apple silicon Macs. Source on GitHub.
Side by side
Typeless checked October 5 and 9, 2026, on typeless.com. Spokenly checked October 5 and 6, 2026, on spokenly.app. YapToText from its own settings. Prices change, so confirm on each maker's site.
| Typeless | Spokenly | YapToText | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Built for | Cloud dictation that rewrites what you say | Dictation with local or cloud models | Dictation, with files as plain text |
| Free | 8,000 words a week at standard accuracy, with an account | Unlimited local Whisper and Parakeet, no word caps, no account. Or your own API keys at no Spokenly fee | Everything |
| Paid | Pro $30 per member a month, or $12 a month billed yearly | Pro $9.99 a month, or $99.99 a year | No paid tier |
| Where speech is processed | Typeless's servers. It says audio is discarded after each result and not used for training | On the Mac with local models, or in the cloud | On the Mac |
| Without internet | No | Yes, with local models | Yes |
| Cleanup | Built in, in the cloud | AI cleanup and polish, with Pro | Built in, on the Mac |
| Platforms | Desktop and mobile apps | Mac with macOS 13.3 or later, Windows, Linux and iPhone, with Android on a waitlist | Apple silicon Macs, macOS 14 or later |
| Open source license | Not stated | Not stated | GPL-3.0 |
Pick by what you need
- Your voice stays on your computer. Spokenly, with local models.
- Rewriting without setup. Typeless.
- No account. Spokenly's free tier.
- Linux. Spokenly.
- Lower paid price. Spokenly Pro at $9.99 a month.
For more on each: Typeless and Spokenly.
The free third option
YapToText does dictation with cleanup and dictionaries on the Mac, free, with no account, and gives plain text from audio and video files. It runs on Apple silicon Macs with macOS 14 or later and nowhere else. If you need Windows, a phone, subtitles or speaker labels, one of the two above fits better. The Typeless alternative page and the Spokenly one compare each with YapToText directly.
This app is completely free. You don't have to make an account. There are no subscriptions, no difficult downloads, and nothing is locked. Made for Apple silicon Macs. Source on GitHub.
The short version
- Typeless. Cloud dictation that rewrites what you say. Pro $30 per member a month, or $12 a month billed yearly.
- Spokenly. Dictation with local or cloud models. Pro $9.99 a month, or $99.99 a year.
- YapToText. Free dictation with cleanup on one Apple silicon Mac.
If a price or feature here has changed, open an issue on GitHub and I will update this page. Every one gets read.
This app is completely free. You don't have to make an account. There are no subscriptions, no difficult downloads, and nothing is locked. Made for Apple silicon Macs. Source on GitHub.
Related
Sources
- https://www.typeless.com/pricing (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://www.typeless.com/help/billing (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.typeless.com/students (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.typeless.com/ (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.typeless.com/downloads (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.typeless.com/privacy (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.typeless.com/help/faqs (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.typeless.com/help/installation-and-setup (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.typeless.com/help/quickstart/dictate (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.typeless.com/help/quickstart/ask-anything (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.typeless.com/help/quickstart/translate (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.typeless.com/help/quickstart/personalization (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://github.com/ryleighnewman/YapToText (checked 2026-10-11)
- https://apps.apple.com/us/app/yaptotext/id6786382289 (checked 2026-10-11)
Questions
What is the difference between Typeless and Spokenly?
Typeless: cloud dictation that rewrites what you say. Spokenly: dictation with local or cloud models.
Is Typeless or Spokenly free?
Typeless: 8,000 words a week at standard accuracy, with an account. Spokenly: Unlimited local Whisper and Parakeet, no word caps, no account. Or your own API keys at no Spokenly fee.
Do Typeless and Spokenly work offline?
Typeless: No. Spokenly: Yes, with local models.
Is there a free app that runs on the Mac?
YapToText is free, with cleanup built in, on Apple silicon Macs.