Typeless vs Wispr Flow: two cloud dictation apps
By Ryleigh Newman · Published · Updated
Pick Typeless if you want the bigger free plan, Linux, or live translation, and pick Wispr Flow if you pay month to month, want meeting notes, or want single dictations of up to 20 minutes. Both turn your speech into text in the cloud. Typeless Free allows 8,000 words a week and Wispr Flow's free plan 2,000 on a Mac or PC. Billed yearly, both Pro plans are $12 a month. Month to month, Typeless is $30 and Wispr Flow is $15.
I built YapToText, a free dictation app that runs on the Mac, so it appears here as a third option, and you should weigh that part knowing I made it. Every fact about Typeless and Wispr Flow here comes from their own sites and help centers, read on October 3 to 6, 2026. I have not tested either app hands-on, so nothing here ranks them by accuracy.
This app is completely free. You don't have to make an account. There are no subscriptions, no difficult downloads, and nothing is locked. Made for Apple silicon Macs. Source on GitHub.
On this page: 8 sections
Side by side
Checked October 5 and 6, 2026, on typeless.com, and October 3 to 6, 2026, on wisprflow.ai and its help center. Prices are in US dollars and change, so check before you pay.
| Typeless | Wispr Flow | YapToText | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free plan | 8,000 words a week, standard accuracy | 2,000 words a week on desktop, 1,000 on mobile | Everything, no word count |
| Pro, billed yearly | $12 per member a month | $12 per user a month | No paid tier |
| Pro, month to month | $30 per member | $15 per user | No paid tier |
| Where speech becomes text | Cloud servers, discarded once the result is returned, per its privacy policy | Wispr's cloud, always, per its privacy page | On the Mac |
| Works with Wi-Fi off | No, per its FAQ | No | Yes, the App Store build |
| Speech model | Not named on the pages I read | Canto, Wispr's own, since September 17, 2026 | Whisper Large v3 Turbo (Q5), on the Mac |
| Default key on a Mac | Fn, pressed once to start and again to finish | Hold Fn to talk; Fn and Space for hands-free | Right Command, tap to start and stop |
| Edits selected text by voice | Ask Anything | Command Mode, experimental, on paid plans and trials | Quick Edit, free |
| Translates as you speak | Yes, Translate | Not stated | No; Quick Edit can translate a selection |
| Meeting notes | Not stated | Notetaker, on Mac and Windows | No |
| Devices | Mac, Windows, Linux, iPhone, Android | Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android | Mac only |
| Mac requirement | Apple silicon or Intel | macOS 12 or later, Apple silicon or Intel | Apple silicon, macOS 14 or later |
| Languages | More than 100, detected automatically | More than 100 | 29 plus auto-detect |
| Account | Google, Apple or email | Sign in during setup | None |
The rows that decide most choices are the free plan and the monthly price: Typeless gives four times the free words, and Wispr Flow costs half as much month to month.
What each one costs
Both charge per person, and both land on the same yearly price. If you pay yearly, price does not separate them. If you pay monthly, Wispr Flow is half the price.
- Typeless. Free is 8,000 words a week with standard accuracy. Pro, with unlimited words, enhanced accuracy, priority access and Cloud Sync, is $30 per member month to month or $12 a month billed yearly. Students get 50 percent off Pro after verifying a school email, for desktop checkout only. Its help center says refunds are issued only when legally required or under an app store's policy.
- Wispr Flow. Free is 2,000 words a week on desktop, and Wispr's help center gives 5,000 as the hard cap before a dictation is refused, with the reset on Sunday at 23:45 UTC. Pro is $15 per user month to month or $12 a month billed yearly. Paid plans have no weekly limit.
- Over a year. $144 for either Pro billed yearly. Month to month, twelve months of Typeless is $360 and of Wispr Flow $180.
The Typeless pricing page and the Wispr Flow pricing page have every plan, including Typeless Enterprise and Wispr's Growth plan.
Where your voice goes
Neither runs on your Mac. The difference is in what happens after. Typeless says it discards your audio after the result and does not train on it. Wispr Flow lets your dictations improve its models by default on Free and Pro, and you can turn that off.
- Typeless. Its privacy policy says audio and context data are processed in real time on cloud servers and discarded once the result is returned, and that dictation is not used to train models. History stays on your device unless you turn on Cloud Sync, a Pro feature.
- Wispr Flow. Its privacy page says transcription always happens in the cloud. Using your dictations to improve Wispr's models is on by default on Free and Pro, off on Growth and Enterprise. Wispr says its third-party AI providers are under zero data retention agreements for Flow Dictation.
- Both. Nothing works without a connection, so a VPN, a filtered network or an outage on their side stops dictation.
The Wispr Flow privacy page goes through every switch.
Features: translation, models, editing and meetings
They overlap on the basics and part ways at the edges. Typeless leans toward reach, with Linux and live translation. Wispr Flow leans toward depth, with its own speech model, long dictations and meeting notes.
Typeless
- Dictation anywhere. Press Fn once to start and again to finish, on a Mac.
- Tone by app. It adapts tone and style to the app, from work email to chat.
- Ask Anything. Select text and speak a command to shorten it, change its tone, summarize or translate it. Its pricing page does not list it as a Pro feature.
- Help me write. Since Mac version 2.8.0, on September 21, 2026: press the Ask anything shortcut, say what you need, and it drafts the reply, email or post.
- Translate. Turns your speech into another language as you dictate.
- Linux. A Linux build, which Wispr Flow does not list.
Wispr Flow
- Canto. Its own speech model since September 17, 2026. Wispr says Canto had the lowest word error rate of the models it tested on its own English recordings. That is Wispr's test.
- Backtrack and formatting. Drops filler words and self-corrections, turns spoken lists into lists, and sets tone by app with Flow Styles, which are English only.
- Command Mode. A spoken instruction for selected text, experimental, off by default, on paid plans and trials.
- Long dictations and meetings. One dictation can run up to 20 minutes, and Notetaker records meetings on Mac and Windows.
Which one to pick
Here is the split I would make, by what you need. Free words point to Typeless, a monthly bill points to Wispr Flow, and offline points to neither.
- The most free dictation. Typeless, at 8,000 words a week.
- Paying month to month. Wispr Flow, at $15 against $30.
- Linux or live translation. Typeless.
- Meeting notes or 20-minute dictations. Wispr Flow.
- Training on your data switched off from the start. Typeless says it does not train on dictation. On Wispr Flow, switch the setting off on Free and Pro.
- Dictation with the Wi-Fi off, or no account. Neither. That is where an on-device app fits.
If superwhisper is also on your list, it differs from both: its free plan runs local Whisper models on your Mac with no word count, and its AI modes, file transcription and cloud models are Pro, at $8.49 a month, $84.99 a year or $249.99 once, checked October 6, 2026. The superwhisper vs Wispr Flow comparison covers that pair.
Where YapToText fits as a free third option
YapToText does the shared job, one key and your words at the cursor, with both models on your Mac. It is free with no word count and works offline, but only on an Apple silicon Mac.
- Free, all of it. There is no paid tier, no account and no weekly count.
- On the Mac. Whisper hears you and a cleanup model tidies the words, both inside the App Store app.
- Edits by voice. Quick Edit rewrites a selection: select text, tap Right Option, say the change.
- What it lacks. Windows, Linux and phone apps, live translation, meeting notes, team plans, and more than 29 languages.

The Typeless alternative page and the Wispr Flow alternative page show how to move over from either.
The short version
- Typeless. It gives you 8,000 free words a week, then costs $12 a month yearly or $30 monthly. It has Linux and live translation, and it is cloud only.
- Wispr Flow. It gives you 2,000 free words a week, then costs $12 a month yearly or $15 monthly. It has its own Canto model, Notetaker and 20-minute dictations, and it is cloud only.
- YapToText. It is free, on the Mac, offline, with no account. It runs on Apple silicon Macs only.
These are two good cloud apps at the same yearly price, and the free plan and the monthly bill decide between them. If something here no longer matches either site, tell me on GitHub. Every issue gets read.
This app is completely free. You don't have to make an account. There are no subscriptions, no difficult downloads, and nothing is locked. Made for Apple silicon Macs. Source on GitHub.
Related
Sources
- https://www.typeless.com/ (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.typeless.com/privacy (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.typeless.com/help/faqs (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.typeless.com/help/billing (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.typeless.com/students (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.typeless.com/help/quickstart/dictate (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.typeless.com/help/quickstart/ask-anything (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.typeless.com/help/quickstart/translate (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.typeless.com/downloads (checked 2026-10-05)
- https://www.typeless.com/pricing (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://www.typeless.com/help/release-notes/macos (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://wisprflow.ai/pricing (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://wisprflow.ai/whats-new (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://docs.wisprflow.ai/articles/3715544288-weekly-word-limit-not-resetting-troubleshooting-guide (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://superwhisper.com/docs/billing/plans (checked 2026-10-06)
- https://wisprflow.ai/privacy (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.wisprflow.ai/articles/2772472373-what-is-flow (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.wisprflow.ai/articles/4816967992-how-to-use-command-mode (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.wisprflow.ai/articles/2368263928-how-to-setup-flow-styles (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.wisprflow.ai/articles/4841123325-longer-dictation-sessions-now-up-to-20-minutes (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://docs.wisprflow.ai/articles/1036674442-supported-devices-and-system-requirements (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://github.com/ryleighnewman/YapToText (checked 2026-10-03)
- https://apps.apple.com/us/app/yaptotext/id6786382289 (checked 2026-10-03)
Questions
Typeless vs Wispr Flow: which is better?
It depends on how you pay. Typeless's free plan allows 8,000 words a week against Wispr Flow's 2,000 on desktop, and both Pro plans are $12 a month billed yearly, but month to month Typeless is $30 and Wispr Flow is $15. Typeless adds Linux and live translation. Wispr Flow adds its own Canto speech model, 20-minute dictations and meeting notes.
Is Typeless cheaper than Wispr Flow?
Billed yearly they cost the same, $12 a month. Month to month Typeless Pro is $30 and Wispr Flow Pro is $15, so Wispr Flow is cheaper unless you pay for the year. Checked October 5 and 6, 2026.
Which has the bigger free plan, Typeless or Wispr Flow?
Typeless, with 8,000 words a week at standard accuracy. Wispr Flow's free plan allows 2,000 words a week on desktop, with 5,000 as the hard cap before a dictation is refused, and 1,000 on mobile.
Do Typeless and Wispr Flow work offline?
No. Typeless's FAQ says every feature needs an internet connection, and Wispr Flow's privacy page says transcription always happens in the cloud. YapToText's App Store build works with Wi-Fi off, because both of its models run on the Mac.
Superwhisper vs Wispr Flow vs Typeless: what is the difference?
superwhisper's free plan runs local Whisper models on your Mac with no word count, and its AI features are Pro, at $8.49 a month, $84.99 a year or $249.99 once. Typeless and Wispr Flow both work in the cloud, with weekly free allowances of 8,000 and 2,000 words on desktop.